Book Review: Hope Unfolding by Becky Thompson

hope

I have heard a ton of people say, “You can’t learn how to parent from a book.” I’m here to say, you’re reading the wrong books. There are a lot of amazing parenting books out there, and I am not talking about What to Expect When You’re Expecting, I happen to hate that book. I am talking about real books written by real parents. I have recently discovered one of the most amazing books to add to my collection: Hope Unfordling: Grace-filled Truth for the Momma’s Heart by Becky Thompson.

Hope Unfoldling: Grace-filled Truth for the Momma’s Heart by Becky Thompson isn’t a how-to book. It’s a book that portrays the reality of being a parent. Being a parent is hard and lonely, a fact that most parents never admit. What Becky Thompson is trying to convey to moms is that you are never alone because God is always with you no matter what kind of day you’re having. Not only is God with you, but every other parent in the world is facing these same challenges.

Hope Unfolding really hit me hard. Often times, especially right after Jimmie was born, I felt more alone than ever. I couldn’t understand why because I was hardly ever alone, Jimmie was always with me. The thought never even occurred to me that while I was breast feeding at 3 AM, God was there holding my hand, whispering in my ear, and encouraging me to keep going. I wish I had this book back then. Instead, I would google all articles about “baby blues,” none of which really helped. I love how the author speaks to the reader as if they are sitting at Starbucks together, drinking a cup of coffee. She refers to the reader as “friend” throughout the entire book. It really made me feel understood an heard. On almost every page I found myself either nodding, crying, or laughing. There are some powerful words in here, folks. Words that every mom needs to hear.

Why do we judge each other as moms? Becky Thompson wants to start a revolution where moms encourage each other and not put each other down. Where we don’t compare each other, just understand each other. Becky Thompson wants you to know that you ARE a good mom, even when the things you think you did wrong that day keep you up at night worrying. God always believes in you and loves you no matter what: even if you lose your patience, even when you “think” you messed your child up for the rest of their life. She  explains that the Enemy wants you to believe you’re a bad mom and wants you to believe you’re not living up to everyone else’s expectations.

Hope Unfolding consists of personal stories, personal feelings, and prayers. I have never read anything more honest and real than this book. Becky Thompson shows the reader her heart, mind, and soul. I just can’t say enough wonderful things about Hope Unfolding without rambling on and on. Every Christian mom, or a mom that wants to let God into their heart, should read this book. It is truly inspirational. Thank you Becky Thompson for reminding us that we are all good moms; you’re a good mom too.

Hope Unfoldling: Grace-filled Truth for the Momma’s Heart by Becky Thompson will be available for purchase on March 15. You can pre-order a copy from Amazon today.

You can also check out Becky Thompson’s blog where you can connect with other moms.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. All the opinions are my own. 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Hope Unfolding by Becky Thompson

  1. Stephanie says:

    This is great! I love when moms can be real and raw. It is a hard gig and we shouldn’t have to feel alone or like we are doing everything wrong. You are a great mama!

Leave a comment