Book Review: The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle

marriage-lie

The day after their seventh wedding anniversary, Will leaves his wife, Iris, in bed with a beautiful new ring and a promise that he is ready to start a family when he gets back from his business trip in Florida. Iris goes to work thinking that it’s just another day counseling high school students. Little does she know, her world is about to be torn apart. A plane, heading to Seattle, has crashed, and she is informed that Will was one of the passengers. Iris immediately thinks there has been a mistake because Will was going to Orlando, not Seattle. Days turn into weeks and Iris discovers that her life with Will, her marriage with Will, was nothing but a web of lies.

The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle should be on everyone’s to-read list in 2017; it would make an fantastic book club choice. As soon as  I finished the first chapter, I was obsessed. Iris and Will seem to be utterly in love after seven years of marriage. I wanted them to make babies and stay in their little happiness bubble forever. Unfortunately, every lie that is slowly unraveled makes happily-ever-after seemingly impossible. This story is uniquely devastating. Imagine thinking you lost someone you love in a plane crash and then realizing you didn’t know that person at all. That is what Iris feels throughout the novel: a series of ups, downs, and everything in between.

There isn’t much I didn’t like about The Marriage Lie. All of the characters are depicted well. Iris’ family is wonderful. They take a horrible situation and make it bearable.  Evan, another person who lost his family in the plane crash, is a great friend to Iris and slowly became one of my favorite characters in the book. I can’t imagine not only losing a spouse in such a horrible accident, but also a child. I also really liked Iris’ twin brother Dave. There are so many characters in this novel, but none of them seem out of place; they all serve a purpose.

I really enjoy a mystery that leaves me thinking, “What the heck could possibly happen to make this book even better?” I thought this at the end of every chapter. There are so many twists in The Marriage Lie, I couldn’t even count them if I wanted to. The end is better than I could have ever predicted and coming from me, that means a lot. I like to pick apart endings, but this one is perfect. I wish I didn’t read this book so fast. I should have savored it longer, lingered on each word instead of rushing through it. It is just that good.

The Marriage Lie will be available for purchase on December 27, 2016.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

One thought on “Book Review: The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle

Leave a Reply

