Book Review: Home Game: Big-League Stories from My Life in Baseball’s First Family by Bret Boone and Kevin Cook

baseball

From Goodreads:

From the first third-generation baseball player in Major League Baseball history, a sometimes moving, always candid look at his family’s 70 years in the world of professional baseball.

A five-foot-ten firecracker who was spurned by scouts for his small size, supposed lack of power, and temper tantrums (one scout called him a “helmet-throwing terror”), Bret Boone didn’t care about family legacy as fought his way into the Major Leagues in 1992; he wanted to make his own way. He did just that, building a 14-year career that included three all-star appearances, four Gold Gloves, a bout with alcoholism, and the ignominy of being traded for the infamous “player to be named later.” Now that he’s coaching minor leaguers half his age, and his 15-year-old son has the potential to be a fourth-generation major leaguer, Bret is ready to reflect on and tell the story of baseball from the perspective of his family’s 70-year history in the sports.

It has taken me forever to post about Home Game by Bret Boone and Kevin Cook (I received it back in June for review) because I honestly could not get into the book. It is a sports memoir about baseball. I thought I would really enjoy it because baseball is my all-time favorite sport and I am also a Phillies fan, which plays a huge part in the Boone family history. From what I did read, which wasn’t the whole book, I learned a lot about the Boone family, who had three generations of members in Major League Baseball, and about baseball in general. I wish I could have gotten into it more, but sadly, it wasn’t a winner in my eyes. There are a lot of small stories from when Bret was younger, growing up a ballplayers kid. Then, of course, his own journey into the major leagues. There are some interesting tidbits in there if you are a big Boone family fan.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

