Book Review: I Love You Just Because by Donna Keith Illustrated by Alison Edgson

just because

Three different baby bears, one family. I Love You Just Because by Donna Keith is all about loving someone for what is on the inside, not the outside. This sweet little rhyming book is great for older preschool children and up. The lesson to be learned is: Even if you look different from one another, that doesn’t mean that you are not special in your own way.

I Love You Just Because is inspired by the author’s daughter’s interracial family. I personally think it would also be a great book for a family who is adopting or for a child that has already been adopted. I really liked the bible verses on each page, as a child grows, each verse can be discussed in different ways.

The illustrations by Alison Edgson are cute and fun. They engaged my son, who is 2. He enjoyed pointing to the different animals and learning about different types of bears.

Overall, I would say this is a decent children’s book. I would definitely recommend it, as I said above, to a family who plans on adopting, or to a family that has already adopted. The rhymes seem forced on many of the pages, which seems to be a trend with christian children’s books. I wish authors would just write stories that didn’t rhyme, sometimes.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

