Book Review: The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz

thiefThe Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz is pure perfection. This jaw-dropping, juicy novel will keep surprising you from start to finish. I didn’t know what to expect from The Bourbon Thief. To be honest, I probably wouldn’t have read it if it weren’t for the fact that I was just in Kentucky a few weeks ago. I’m so glad the Maker’s Mark tour sparked an interest in bourbon for me (not the taste, just the history and process). If it weren’t for that tour, I wouldn’t have given this book a second thought. With all that aside, I’m so glad I gave this book a chance. Bourbon lovers (and haters) will enjoy this piece of literary fiction.

Tamara Maddox is a spoiled, rich girl who is set to inherit Red Thread, a multi- million dollar bourbon distillery, once her grandfather dies. Since her own father, and uncle, have died, she is next in line to continue on the Maddox tradition of making and selling top notch bourbon in Lexington, Kentucky, and all around the world. Tamara likes to ride her horse Kermit, and flirt with Levi, the hired help that tends to the horses. Levi happens to be quite a bit older than Tamara and is off limits, but  that doesn’t stop her from trying to get a Birthday kiss from him.

It is said that the Maddox family is cursed. Paris, who just “happens” to stumble into Cooper McQueen’s bar, was born and raised in Kentucky. After seducing him and going home to his large estate, Paris finds herself in the presence of the last bottle of Red Thread. Paris tells Cooper a tale that not many people know. All the lies, secrets, and love between the Maddox family pulls Cooper into a story that he will never forget.

The tale of Tamara Maddox is so shocking that you won’t be able to put it down. Just when I thought there couldn’t possibly be any more surprises, Tiffany Reisz threw another insane twist into the mix. I can’t describe my feelings of horror throughout this entire book. I just can’t imagine one family having so many deep, dark secrets, it is unbelievable.  I kept telling my husband, “This book is really starting to get good!” I probably said that to him ten times because it just kept getting better and better. I’ll warn you, there are some steamy parts in the novel. At first, I thought it was going to be a dirty romance novel, but there are only a few portions that get hot and heavy.

You really will learn a lot about Bourbon from this novel. After reading it, I wish I could enjoy the taste, but alas, I’m still not a fan. I’m am, however, a fan on Tiffany Reisz. Check out her newest novel, The Bourbon Thief, it is a summer must-read. Right off the bat, you will be consumed by a narrative that will hopefully makes your own family history seem a little less crazy.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

