Book Review: Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica

dont you cry

From Goodreads:

In downtown Chicago, a young woman named Esther Vaughan disappears from her apartment without a trace. A haunting letter addressed to My Dearest is found among her possessions, leaving her friend and roommate Quinn Collins to wonder where Esther is and whether or not she’s the person Quinn thought she knew.

Meanwhile, in a small Michigan harbor town an hour outside Chicago, a mysterious woman appears in the quiet coffee shop where eighteen-year-old Alex Gallo works as a dishwasher. He is immediately drawn to her charm and beauty, but what starts as an innocent crush quickly spirals into something far more dark and sinister than he ever expected.

As Quinn searches for answers about Esther, and Alex is drawn further under Pearl’s spell, master of suspense Mary Kubica takes readers on a taut and twisted thrill ride that builds to a stunning conclusion and shows that no matter how fast and far we run, the past always catches up with us in the end.

This is the second Mary Kubica book I have read. After reading Pretty Baby, I was hooked.  Ms. Kubica really knows how to make your imagination run wild from start to finish. In her newest novel, Don’t You Cry, you will be sitting on the edge of your chair wondering what the heck is going on. From alternating points of views, Quinn and Alex, uncover who Esther Vaughan really is and what happened to her, in two completely unrelated stories. Living in different towns, uncovering different clues, not even knowing one another, Alex and Quinn discover secrets that leave them ultimately mystified.

Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica is twisty, dark, and enchanting. Believe me when I say that you are not going to want to put it down. Books like this one make me wonder if I know someone that has some crazy, deep, dark secret that they’re hiding. It makes me question everyone I think I know. Quinn is an interesting character who is well-developed throughout the entire novel. Not only is she looking for her missing roommate, she is also falling deeper for a guy she isn’t supposed to like to begin with, Ben. Alex, who I actually thought was a girl for the first 50 pages of the book (I have no idea why I thought this,) is an interesting character, as well. Sometimes, when I read books with alternating perspectives, I prefer one character over the other. This wasn’t the case in Don’t You Cry; I didn’t want either character’s chapters to end just so I could get back to the “other” story.

It really is unbelievable how Mary Kubica kept me guessing throughout this entire novel. I figured a few things out, but she still managed to surprise me, more than once, towards the end. She has a way of giving small clues throughout her books that keep you wanting more and more; I ate up the suspense like a bag of chips. If you enjoyed The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins and/or Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, then you will love Don’t you cry by Mary Kubica on sale May 17, 2016.

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

