Book Review: Forever My Little Boy by Karen Kingsbury, Illustrated by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

boy

What a sweet, endearing book about raising a little boy. When I first saw this book, I thought it was a children’s book, but it is the opposite. Forever My Little Boy: Loving Your Son for Now and for Always by Karen Kingsbury is a beautiful short story for moms, dads, and grown-up little boys. The story begins at the birth of your little boy and continues through adulthood. I was in tears by the end; it was the ugly kind of cry. The small boy changes right before our eyes, on each page, just like our own children do. It really did make me pause and think how fast Jimmie is growing. As you know, the old saying goes, “The days are long, but the years are short.” This book is a reminder of that. From first steps, riding a bike, playing football, driving a car, and getting married, Forever My Little Boy takes the reader on a memorable journey.

Throughout Forever My Little Boy there are lovely illustrations by Joanne Lew-Vriethoff. The boy with the backpack waving goodbye is where I started to get choked up. When I think of Little Jimmie growing up, that is what I see in my mind. Him standing on his school steps, waving goodbye, on his first day of kindergarten. There are also bible verses and little prayers throughout the entire book that reflect different stages in your son’s life. The line that made me shed my first tear is, “The mother knew that she had to share her love for him with someone else.” This line is on the page where her little boy is falling in love.

With Mother’s Day and Father’s Day quickly approaching, this book would be the perfect gift for a new mom or dad. It would also be a great gift to give your own parents or your own child that has their own children. Whoever your purchase this book for, I would include a package of tissues to go with it.

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

