Book Review: Night Night, Daddy by Amy Parker Illustrated by Lee Holland

daddy

You know I love a good bedtime story. Sadly, I didn’t love this Night Night, Daddy by Amy Parker, and neither did my husband. Although, I must point out, that Little Jimmie is a big fan. Which is really the only person in our house that needs to like the book. He particularly likes the pancake page; kid loves to eat.

DSC_0467

DSC_0473

DSC_0479

DSC_0480

I do like the concept of Night Night, Daddy. A little fox is having a special day with his dad. They fly kites, eat pancakes for dinner, talk about God and the moon, have a bubble fight, build a fort to sleep in, have a tickle fight, and pray before bed. The illustrations by Lee Holland are bright and beautiful. With that all being said, I just didn’t like the actual words in the story. There are too many forced rhymes; some lines that don’t even make sense to me.

DSC_0476

Even though my Jim and I don’t love this book, Jimmie really does enjoy listening to his daddy read it to him before bed. He also really likes looking at the pictures, as you can see by the photographs above.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  

One thought on “Book Review: Night Night, Daddy by Amy Parker Illustrated by Lee Holland

Leave a Reply

