Cookbook Review: Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table

cookbook

This is my first ever official cookbook review! I am so excited to share with you Whitney Miller’s new southern table. I had so much fun looking through this cookbook and picking out a few recipes to make and try out. I have been in a major cooking rut lately; making the same meals every week. Whitney Miller’s newest cookbook inspired me to try new dishes and cook southern food for the first time.

What I love most about this cookbook is how Whitney Miller has a little blurb at the beginning of each recipe that explains why she loves it and/or a story behind the dish. I also like how I can cook almost all of the meals, included in this book, for both me and my husband and our 18 month old.  Another plus to this book is how many of Whitney’s recipes don’t require a ton of out-of the box ingredients. I hate buying spices and sauces for just one recipe when trying out a new cookbook. There is a huge variety of recipes in this book including: breakfasts, lunches, dinners, sides, meals for company, and desserts. Whitney Miller’s second cookbook is a must add to every cook’s collection.

I must admit, the recipes are time consuming. With that being said, they are worth the time spent preparing them. I spent nap times prepping some of these meals. I have found some new dishes to incorporate into my cooking rotation, but will probably save them for weekends. I don’t have a ton of time during the week to prep fabulous meals. I still have a ton of recipes to try out, but here are a few I have already made. You know how sometimes you buy a cookbook and then only try one or two recipes? Then it ends up on the shelf collecting dust? This will not be the case with Whitney Millers new southern table. I will be leaving it in plain eye sight so that I can keep cooking up some new, delicious southern food.

I tried four new recipes this past week. The first dish I cooked was Chicken Parmesan Meatballs (pg. 170). I made the meatballs at nap time (I baked them the whole time instead of frying them in the cast-iron skillet and then baking them.) I also made some of my homemade (pasta) gravy. We had the meatballs in club rolls. This recipe was a bit time consuming. The prep-time was worth it because the meatballs turned out great. We all loved them (including our little guy). I will be making these again. Unfortunately I forgot to take a photo.

DSC_0120

DSC_0122

Our favorite meal of the weak, which required the least amount of prep time, was Mozzarella-Stuffed Meatloaf (pg. 162). Let me start off by saying before eating this, I despised meatloaf. This recipe turned me into a meatloaf lover. My husband and I were blown away by this recipe. This recipe, alone, is worth buying the book! It wasn’t too hard to prepare and  it cooked perfectly. The flavoring was to die for and we ate way too much. Luckily, there were some leftovers for lunch the next day. The little guy devoured the meatloaf too. It was his first time eating meatloaf. Maybe he won’t grow up hating it like I did.

DSC_0134We did breakfast for dinner one night. I cooked up some Sausage and Egg Pie (pg. 32). This took a lot of time to prep. In the end, we decided there were too many grits and not enough eggs. We didn’t mind eating it (the baby loved it) but we ended up not eating the leftovers because we were kind of disappointed. I’m going to try making it with less grits next time and more eggs. I loved the idea of using grits for a crust, it was just too overwhelming for us.

DSC_0179 The final dish I cooked was Sweet Potato Cornbread (pg. 122). I had never made  cornbread from scratch before nor had I ever cooked in a cast-iron skillet.  Although it took a while to prepare, the outcome was great. Homemade cornbread tastes so much better than the Jiffy box kind. I served the corn bread with sloppy joes. The baby liked the bread so much and didn’t want to eat anything else. Luckily, the bread was made with lower fat ingredients; I didn’t feel too guilty giving him a little extra. I will be making this for future potlucks and when we have chili.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

