Book Review: Everything She Forgot by Lisa Ballantyne

everything she

Margaret, a school teacher, lives in London with her husband and two kids. One late, winter night, Margaret is on her way home from work when she gets caught in a horrible traffic accident. As she is about to go up in flames, a mysterious man saves her and then vanishes. Margaret can’t stop thinking about the night of the accident and the man that saved her. As her thoughts become consumed with what happened, she starts to remember other things from her past, a past that she was encouraged to forget.

Everything She Forgot by Lisa Ballantyne switches from past to present, from one character’s perspective to another. I personally thought it was hard to keep up with all of the different viewpoints. I wish the story was only told from the three main character’s perspectives, instead of throwing in a few chapters from other characters here and there. I was distracted by side stories and opinions, which made it hard for me to really get into the book at first.

It took me a while to get into this novel. It wasn’t because it wasn’t good, it just moved very slowly. By the time I felt like the was good stuff happening, the book was almost over. The turning point of Everything She Forgot was way too close to the end of the novel. I wanted to know more than what was explained.

I love a good suspense novel and Everything She Forgot has everything a good suspense novel should have. It kept me guessing all the way through. I actually thought the man who saved Margaret was a totally different person than he turned out to be. I am usually able to guess who is who in a suspense novel by the middle or so, but that wasn’t the case this time around. Lisa Ballantyne did a wonderful job explaining the past in-depth, but lacked explaining the present.

Agnus Campbell, a journalist, is one of the filthiest characters I have encountered in a novel. The way he treats women is disrespectful and unnecessary. I don’t understand why his character is so crude. The things he said and did were tragic and mean. I honestly wish I cold unread the majority of his chapters.

George McLaughlin, on the other hand, is a sweet character that I sympathized with throughout the entire novel. Even though he had done something horribly wrong, he did it out of love for his daughter, and that makes him a tragic hero in my eyes.

Overall, Everything She Forgot by Lisa Ballantyne is just an okay book. I liked the story, but not the way it was presented.

WIN a copy! Three print copies will be given away on October 30th.

If you would like to buy a copy:

AMAZON

BARNES & NOBLE

INDIEBOUND

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

