Happy First Birthday, Jimmie!

One year ago, you came into our lives.

When I woke up on the day you were born, I didn’t know that day was going to be your Birthday.  I cleaned the house just in case; I didn’t want to bring you home to a mess. When we went to see the doctor, he told us you would be safer in our arms than in my belly. We were scared, but excited too. After being in labor for less than 10 hours, you arrived at 10:18 PM. I was so happy you were not only healthy, but also happy that I didn’t have to labor through the night. You were already aware of my need for sleep. Before I closed by eyes to rest, we celebrated with Pop Tarts for dinner. I didn’t sleep that night, nor many nights to follow, but I forgive you. You were just a wee little baby and you needed my attention almost all of the time. Sometimes I can’t sleep at night, and I lie there and hope that you wake up and need me again so that being awake had meaning, but those days are few and far between.

jimmie17

Happy Birthday, little angel. The doctor was right, you were safer in our arms, and I am grateful for that. I’m going to hold you as tight as I can, for as long as I can. You’ll see, I’m never letting you go.

momma

You can read more about Jimmie’s birth here.

 

One thought on “Happy First Birthday, Jimmie!

Leave a Reply

