The Day Before Your First Birthday

Jimmie and Mommy Bench

Tomorrow you’re turning one, Little Jimmie. You, my little darling, are going to be a toddler.

I don’t even know where to begin to rationalize how this could be possible. They say, “The days are long but the years are short.” And they’re right (whoever they are.) Some days seem so long, endless even, and others seem to go by too quick. No matter how long, hard, short, or wonderful a day is,  I miss you as soon as you fall asleep.

You have brought so many smiles, tears, and a lot laughter to our lives. We are forever grateful for your easy-going attitude and the fact that you started sleeping “through the night” at 2 1/2 months. Thank you for that. Thank you for making this year one of the most rewarding and challenging ones ever. I knew nothing about parenting before you were born and now I feel like I could write a book.

Tomorrow you won’t be the same baby I delivered one year ago. You now have your own cute personality. You know what you want and when you want it. You like to play by yourself but you also love when we build block towers so that you can knock them down. You love your bouncer and you love being lifted high up into the air when we do squats. You respond to your name and when we call you “Monkey.”

If I could describe this year in two words I would say: life altering. There will never be another year where we all change so much. You started to: lift your head, roll over, sit up, Army crawl, stand holding onto furniture, pull up on your toy box, wave, clap, and take a few “cruising” steps. You started to play with toys, understand how buttons turn sound on and off, stack blocks, roll a ball back and forth,  put items in boxes, and take items out of boxes. You eat the majority of your meals with your fingers and you’re just about to give up your bedtime bottle.

You can say “Mama,” “Dada,””Nana (banana),”and “da”  (which I swear is usually said when we read about ducks or you are looking at Toby). You can mimic us when we “blow” on food because it is hot. You can cluck your tongue when we cluck ours at you and you always laugh when we laugh, even when you have no idea why we’re laughing. Your laugh is the most amazing thing I have ever heard. I still remember the first time you laughed and how it brought me to tears. Sometimes when I am crying, you laugh at me, and I start to laugh with you. Those are some of the best moments.

I can’t wait to watch you grow more and more during your second year of life. Today is the last day where I can say, “He’s almost one.” Even though you will be a toddler tomorrow, you will always, always be my baby boy. You are going to do great things this year and I can’t wait to be a part of all of the magical moments.

Tonight before you go to bed, we are going to read you this special book, kiss you goodnight, and tell you we love you.

Tomorrow you’re turning one, Little Jimmie. You, my little darling, are going to be a toddler.

Happy Birthday Eve, Jimmie. We love you more than words can explain.

One thought on “The Day Before Your First Birthday

Leave a Reply

