Book Review: For the Right Reasons: America’s Favorite Bachelor on Faith, Marriage, and Why Nice Guys Finish First by Sean Lowe, Nancy French (contributor)

for

You may know Sean Lowe from The Bachelorette (Emily Maynard’s season) and The Bachelor on ABC. You may also know him from Dancing with the Stars Season 16. Not only is Sean Lowe America’s favorite bachelor, he is also mine. Sean Lowe seemed like a great guy from the very beginning of The Bachelorette to the very end of The Bachelor. For the Right Reasons: America’s Favorite Bachelor on Faith, Marriage, and Why Nice Guys Finish First is about Sean Lowe’s journey from his junior year of high school up until his wedding day with Catherine Guidici. In his autobiography, Sean talks about how his faith  and God led him to marrying the right woman. Sean opens up about how his relationship with God sometimes left him empty, confused, and broken, but how that didn’t stop him from believing that he was on the right path to happiness.

For the Right Reasons isn’t just about how God influenced Sean in life and his decisions to become a born again virgin. The autobiography is more of an inside look into Sean’s life before, during, and after The Bachelorette and The Bachelor. It’s also a behind the scenes look into these two popular reality TV shows.

I learned a lot about Sean Lowe from his book. I learned about how he could have been a professional football player, what he did after college, and what led him to join one of ABC’s biggest franchises. I watched both Emily Maynard’s season of The Bachelorette and Sean’s season of the Bachelor. For the Right Reasons takes the reader into the shows as if they are happening all over again. I actually wanted Emily to pick Sean, not only on her season, but in Sean’s book. Even though I knew that it couldn’t possibly happen in the book, since they are both married to different people now. It was like watching the Titanic for the millionth timing hoping that just this time, it won’t sink or maybe Leo (Jack) wouldn’t die. I was holding my breath hoping for a Hail Mary while reading, and of course it never happened.

For the Right Reasons is just as addicting as a reality TV show; I could not put it down. (Sometimes I would read it to my son while he was in his jumper. He loves a good romance story.) Not only did I want Emily to pick Sean, but I also wanted Sean to pick Lindsay. I liked her a lot more than Catherine, at the time, and thought they would be perfect together. But I obviously didn’t get to choose the winner, Sean did. (I’m not going to lie, I googled spoilers to make sure he didn’t pick Tierra, I was going to stop watching if she made it to the top 4.) He picked Catherine and they are still madly in love. (Of course I watched their wedding on TV when it aired last year.)

It was really interesting to learn secret details from these seasons of The Bachelorette and The Bachelor. I won’t give too much away, but did you know that they never eat on night dates? They get food sent to their rooms beforehand and the food on their dates are just props. (If they ate, there would be too much noise on their mics.) For the Right Reasons is filled with things you would never know by just watching the shows. This is why I am stressing that if you are a Sean Lowe fan, a Bachelorette/Bachelor fan, or just a reality show junkie like me, this book is for you. It was well written and kept me interested all the way through. I only wonder if the producers of the shows had to change a few things around after Sean’s book came out. Especially because of the little detail he shared about the order in which they get out of the limo on the show. You’ll have to buy the book to find out what I mean.

Bonus facts for all of you Phillies fans out there like myself: Sean met Cole Hamels at a charity event that he was invited to by Cole himself. Also, Sean’s ex-girlfriend, former Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader Brooke Sorenson, is married to former Philadelphia Phillie Lance Nix.

I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: For the Right Reasons: America’s Favorite Bachelor on Faith, Marriage, and Why Nice Guys Finish First by Sean Lowe, Nancy French (contributor)

  1. Stephanie says:

    Ahhh I want to read this now that I know there are spoilers of behind the scenes! I follow both Sean and Catherine on Instagram, and they are too adorable for words. Also we should live in the same city so I could have someone to watch the Bachelor/ette with!

Leave a Reply

