Kindle Daily Deal: Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

Have you ever read Maniac Magee? I read it in 6th grade. It immediately became one of my favorite books. Jim gave me a signed copy for Christmas one year; one of my favorite gifts he has ever given me. He student taught for Jerry Spinelli’s son. What are the odds?

maniac magee

Today, on Amazon Kindle Deals, you can buy Maniac Magee for 99 cents for your Kindle. I want it and I already have two hard copies (my signed copy and a paperback copy). Hurry! The deal will only last until midnight (2/16/2015).This is a great price for an amazing book. It has so many references to the Philadelphia area. I remember in sixth grade, after we were done reading the book, our teacher brought in Butterscotch Krimpets. Yep, Tastykakes. Interesting fact: My Grandmom always gave us Tastykakes on our Birthdays, and today is the one year anniversary of her passing away.

tastycakes

Giving Tastycakes to my Grandmom on her 80th Birthday

cakes

Goodreads summary for Maniac Magee:

Jeffrey Lionel “Maniac” Magee might have lived a normal life if a freak accident hadn’t made him an orphan. After living with his unhappy and uptight aunt and uncle for eight years, he decides to run–and not just run away, but run. This is where the myth of Maniac Magee begins, as he changes the lives of a racially divided small town with his amazing and legendary feats.

Leave a Reply

