Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Cath and Wren are twins. Cath and Wren are starting college. Cath and Wren write fan fiction. Cath and Wren love Simon Snow.  Wren wants to be her own person. Cath wants to live with Wren. Cath’s roommate is kind of cooky. Wren’s roommate is kind of dumb. Wren parties. Cath continues to write fan fiction. Cath falls for a boy that she believe is unobtainable. Wren drinks too much. Cath and Wren’s dad works too hard. Cath and Wren’s mom isn’t really in the picture. The End.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is the book that never ends. It goes on, and on, and on. I am so glad I didn’t read it on the Kindle because then I wouldn’t have known how much torture I would have had left at any given moment. Sometimes, I want books to be full of details, this one wasn’t one of them. I hated all of the fan fiction in the novel. Not only was there fan faction written by Cath and Wren before every chapter, there was also “fiction” excerpts from the books they were swooning over; the books that just happen to be just like Harry Potter.  Not going to lie, I skipped a lot of those parts. And to be honest, you’re not missing anything if you skip them. They don’t really add to the story, they just make the whole novel longer.

Cath is an English major. I obviously like this fact about her. What I don’t like is how she is beyond obsessed with her fan fiction. She is so obsessed that she never works on her real school assignments. What kind of intelligent person actually believes that their fan fiction is going to get them somewhere, someday? It’s hard enough being a writer, let alone a writer in someone else’s world. I don’t care how many followers you have. Until you write your own stories, in your own space, you’re just a person that knows how to put words on paper. I also hate that a lot of books focus on the quirkiness of English majors. I get it, we’re weird and sometimes socially awkward. Get over it.

Wren is a selfish brat. I still don’t understand her logic for the majority of her behavior. She is definitely the “bad” twin. I understand that they grew up without a mother, and how their father needs a little extra attention than most, but how do you just blow your TWIN sister off as much as she does? That just doesn’t seem real to me, although I don’t have a twin. Best fact about the novel is the story behind the twins names. Crazy mom alert. She should have named them apple and orange.

Levi, the main male character in the story, lacks depth. He does work at Starbucks, which is obviously cool, and he makes secret drinks, which is even cooler, but he is just too happy. He needs to chill out and be mopey a little more often. The world isn’t full of happiness, buddy.

There is too much going on in this novel. Too many subplots and not enough focus on the main problem. Which is? I’m not really sure because I spent too much time skimming through fake stories about Simon Snow. The worst part of the whole novel (SPOILER ALERT) is how we don’t even find out what happens at the end of Cath’s fan fiction novel Carry On. Does Baz die? Do Simon and Baz live happily ever after? WHY AREN’T THESE QUESTIONS ANSWERED?! I read over 400 pages of meaningless words and then nothing. It ended. Point blank ended. Was this done to piss the readers off? I think so. And that’s all I have to say about that.

On one final note, I’m glad Rainbow Rowell didn’t reference The Catcher in the Rye. The Outsiders was mentioned, which is fine, but I hate when authors talk about The Catcher in the Rye. It’s an automatic dislike for me.

Leave a Reply

