Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

anna

Anna can’t wait to start her senior year of high school. Except instead of finishing off her high school career in Atlanta, Georgia, her father decides to send her off to the land of love, Paris, France, to attend boarding school. Anna never asked to leave her school, her friends, her family, or her crush, to be sent across the Ocean to a foreign country where she doesn’t even speak the language. She isn’t given a choice or even a reason why she is being sent there.

On her first night in Paris, Anna is surprised about how much she misses her parents as soon as they leave.  After hearing her cry through the wall, her neighbor befriends her. Faster than expected, everything starts to fall in to place. Anna has a whole year in front of her which involves new adventures, new friends, and new love.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins has been on my to-read list for a long time now. I am so glad that it lived up to all of the hype it was given by other book bloggers. I fell in love with this book as soon as it began. I already had a soft spot for Paris, France, and now I am even more in love. The book was adorable and I never wanted it to end. I have always been fascinated by books about boarding schools. Anna and the French Kiss is even more fascinating because it’s set in an American boarding school abroad.

Stephanie Perkins described Paris just the way I imagine it: Bakeries everywhere, little outdoor cafes, and amazing architecture every which way you look. I love how Anna acknowledges how the French hate white sneakers and how only American tourists wear them. I am always telling people this little fact if they are heading that way. I know that when I finally go to France, I will not be packing white sneakers. I also plan on seeing an old movie while I’m there. I never knew that Paris is big on showing old American movies in theaters. I would love to see a classic on the big screen in an authentic Parisian theater. Anna is obsessed with movie and writing reviews about them. She wants to become a famous movie critic once she graduates from college.

I enjoyed Anna and St.Clair’s relationship throughout the novel. I was rooting for them to fall in love from the day they bumped into each other. I liked how they brought out the best in one another. It’s hard to believe that sometimes you have to halfway around the world to meet your best friend.

Leave a Reply

