A Year of Books

power

Mark Zuckerberg is sharing his New Year’s resolution with the world: A book club on Facebook. Mr. Zuckerberg is challenging everyone to read outside of their comfort zone by reading the book he recommends every other week. This week’s book is The End of Power: From Boardrooms to Battlefields and Churches to States, Why Being In Charge Isn’t What It Used to Be by Moises Naim. You’d think Mark would have the power to at least make the Kindle edition free on Amazon/ B & N etc., but I guess that is asking too much. Maybe I’ll hop on board and read a few of the books, but I got bored reading the summary of this one.

What do you think? Do you think Mark has the right idea by using his own company to encourage reading? I personally feel like it’s some sort of (smart) ploy to draw even more attention to Facebook. I know “kids these days” don’t even use it. Do you think Facebook will ever die out like Myspace? It’s weird to think about a world with out this social media outlet that allows you to follow the life of your “friends” without actually being friends with them. I guess only time will tell.

If you want to join in on the reading fun, head over to the official Facebook page.

One thought on “A Year of Books

  1. Stephanie says:

    I think it is an interesting concept. I love when people encourage reading, but I also wonder what business partnerships spurred out of this idea. I do wonder all the time what if FB was gone. It would be weird! I think it has more of an impact than Myspace did, but then again you never know what the future will bring and new stuff that will arise.

Leave a Reply

