Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

gone girl

What happens when your wife disappears on your fifth year wedding anniversary? Ask Nick Dunne. Nick and Amy, former New York writers, live in a small town in Missouri. Nick owns The Bar, a local bar, with his twin sister, Margo, and Amy is a stay-at-home, bitter, house wife. After going to The Bar, and receiving a phone call that his front door is wide open, Nick returns home to find his wife missing. Where did she go? Did Nick kill her? That’s what the whole town, including the police, are wondering. A story full of non-stop drama makes one question what lies behind this picture perfect marriage. Does anyone really know the person they marry?

I didn’t really know much about this book before I started seeing movie advertisements. The movie trailer looked good, which made me want to read the book before seeing the movie; I really love a good mystery story. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn kept me on the edge of my seat almost up to the very end. The book begins by going back and forth between Nick, present day, and Amy, past tense diary format. It reminded me of the play The Last Five Years by Jason Robert Brown. Nick starts off talking about where their relationship went wrong and how he has fallen out of love, and Amy starts off describing the beginning of the relationship and how they fell in love. Then, just when you think you have it all figured out, the plot thickens. You’ll just have to read it to find out how.

The whole novel made me question Nick. Every other page I thought, ‘Well, maybe he killed his wife.’ Then I would think, ‘No, he couldn’t have done it!’ I loved and hated Nick all at the same time. Amy, on the other hand, I kind of hated her the entire novel. She seemed shady and spoiled to me, right from the very start. She never seemed happy and she was never satisfied with what life handed her, even with a hefty trust fund from her parents’ children’s book franchise Amazing Amy.

Fast forward to the end of the book. I’m obviously not going to say what happens but I am going to say that I hated it. My dad looked at me right when I finished and asked, “What’s wrong? You look distressed.” I was, at the time, frantically clicking on my Kindle to see if there was more. I then went to my tablet to see if there was a sequel or plans for a sequel. Gillian Flynn states in this interview that she wanted the ending to be controversial. She knew that most readers would have something negative to say about it.

One thought on “Book Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Leave a Reply

