Book Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

katherineColin Singleton looks for one particular thing in a girl, her name has to be Katherine. When the 19th Katherine bites the dust, Colin and his best friend Hassan go on a road trip that lands them in Gunshot, Tennessee, a small town far away from where the boys grew up. When they pull into a convenience store, they meet a girl named Lindsay. Lindsay’s mom, Hollis, owns a big factory in Gunshot where they make stings for tampons. Lindsay invites Colin and Hassan back to her house where her mother recognizes Colin from a TV show for smart kids. Hollis offers the boys a job interviewing the people of Gunshot by recording the ups the downs of life in Gunshot; she also offers them a place to stay, her pink mansion. While in Gunshot, Colin works on a math theorem that predicts the possibility of being dumped. Hassan learns the value of work and does more than just watch Judge Judy all day.

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green ranks very high on the list of books that I didn’t enjoy reading. Yes, you read that correctly, I didn’t enjoy reading it, but I liked it enough to finish it. If you like math and footnotes, this book is for you. Unfortunately, I don’t like either. There are way too many math references in this book and far too many footnotes that were too distracting and long for me to read. To be honest, I usually just skipped over the footnotes if they were more than one line.

I have enjoyed reading all of John Green’s books up until this one. I just finished Looking for Alaska and loved it. I read The Fault in Our Stars and cried my eyes out, and was sucked into the mystery of Paper Towns, from page one. An Abundance of Katherines was just so boring. I had to force myself to read it and I couldn’t wait for it to end. Then, when it did end, I was left with the feeling that it wasn’t even over. I thought that the book was left unfinished and I was left unsatisfied.

What did I like about the book? I had to have liked the book a little to finish it because I have a new rule since my reading time has dwindled. If a book sucks, I won’t finish it. Hassan was a funny character, I did enjoy his quirks. I also enjoyed learning about the little town of Gunshot. I always enjoy reading about towns where everyone knows everyone else. I always said I wanted to live in one, but living in Korea was like living in a small town, and it overwhelmed me. I would rank this book as my least favorite John Green books. I probably wouldn’t recommend it to many people unless, like I stated above, they like math.

Leave a Reply

