Breastfeeding Must-Haves

breastfeeding essential

Even though my breastfeeding relationship only lasted a month, read my story here, I don’t think I could have made it through it without these products:

Motherlove Nipple Cream: This stuff is great: It’s made from natural ingredients and smells delicious. I started using it in the hospital on my nipples and never really got any terrible sores from feeding Jimmie, granted I was using a shield, but it did make my sore nipples feel much better.

Lansinoh TheraPearl 3-in-1 Breast Therapy – These hot/cold packs fit perfectly in your bra. I used them as cold packs for my engorged boobs. They were a huge help when I decided to stop breastfeeding; I pretty much wore them non-stop until my milk went away. The hot/cold packs come with pouches so they are not too hot or cold against your skin. (The covers are washable!)

Lansinoh Disposable Nursing Pads – When I decided to breastfeed, I knew I would need pads for leakage. I was going to by reusable ones, eventually, but soon realized that for as long as I was leaking, I would use these; washing milk-soaked breast pads really wasn’t on top of my daily to-do list. I love these because you can stick them to the inside of your bra so that they don’t move around. (I sometimes needed to change mine two-three times a day.)

Medula Contact Nipple Shield – I needed this, at all times, to nurse Jimmie. I read reviews for other brands, but this one was rated the best, and it worked well for us. I would wet it before it put it on so that it would stick and stay on better. (Store yours in a Skip Hop pacifier pocket, I was constantly losing mine, and panicking!)

Women’s Nursing Comfort Sleep Bra (from Target)– This was my favorite nursing bra. I bought a few different kinds (okay a ton) and I found myself wearing (and washing) these the most. They come in all different colors and are really comfortable during the day and while sleeping. FYI: Do not buy nursing bras with under wire, they can cause infection! (Wish I knew this before I bought bras!)

Camelbak Water Bottle – I was drinking water non-stop before, during, and after breastfeeding. I love this water bottle because you don’t have to tip it over to drink from it. Sometimes if I was drinking from a cup, I would pour water all over myself; I’m not too great at multitasking.

Leave a Reply

