Book Review: Looking For Alaska by John Green

lookingMiles is a shy boy who lives in Florida with his parents. Up until his sophomore year, he attended a local high school. Miles doesn’t seem to fit in with his peers and wants to get away from the monotony of his “meaningless” life. He decides he wants to attend the boarding school his father went to in Alabama, Culver Creek. With his parent’s blessing, (and tuition money,) Miles sets off on a big journey to find his “great perhaps.” Miles, a lover of famous last words, is hoping to find a new meaning to his life, and of course, a few friends.

Shortly after arriving at Culver Creek, Miles meets his roommate, The Colonel. The Colonel introduces Miles to his little click of friends, which includes the beautiful Alaska Young. After meeting Alaska, Miles life is never the same. Alaska, The Colonel, Miles, and a few others spend their junior year laughing, crying, and creating memories that will last forever.

I went into reading Looking For Alaska by John Green without any knowledge of what it was about. I just thought, “Hey, I like John Green, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this book.” Fortunately, I was right, and I enjoyed the book from the beginning to end. I was surprised, more than once, about events in the novel and how it all played out. The turning point, which is huge, surprised me so much that I had to stop reading and go to bed, it was that unexpected. I have never been so caught off guard when reading a book before.

The characters in this novel meshed so well with each other, from the very start. I love Young Adult novels that make me feel like I am back in high school, reliving a time in my life where I thought I was invincible, just like Miles and his friends do. I could really relate back to a time when I thought the world was mine and there were so many possibilities for my future. As we grow up, like Miles points out, we forget that feeling and we forget what it’s like to live every day to its fullest. Looking for Alaska is a reminder of how the world is ours, but we are not as invincible as we sometimes believe.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Looking For Alaska by John Green

  1. Carole Besharah says:

    A great YA read. Although I liked (and cried while reading) The Fault in Our Stars, I think this novel was is even better. AND… The fabulous Sarah Polley will be directing the film adaptation of Looking For Alaska. The film will be awesome. Yay! Thanks for sharing!

    • Rosie says:

      wow! I am so excited that there will be a movie. I had just had my baby when AFIOS came out in theaters, so I am going to rent it, soon! I can’t wait. I loved the book!

  2. Alex J. Hughes says:

    Great review! Really enjoyed your take on the invincibility we feel when we’re younger. It’s easy to lose sight of that. I think there’s a benefit in leveraging that mindset. Obviously, a balance must be achieved. But you’re exactly right, it’s a reminder of how the world can still be ours.

Leave a Reply

