Book Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

everyoneLet me start off by saying I had no idea who Mindy Kaling was before I read this book (Sorry, Mindy). I also want to add that I kind of despise The Office (Sorry, again, Mindy). (Let me clarify: Not because I don’t think it’s funny, but because it makes me dizzy when I watch it.) With that being said, I thought Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling was hilarious. I picked it up at a book sale because I knew it was a popular book, plus I liked the title and cover. (Shocking, I know.)

From the very first hello in Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns), to the very last goodbye, I fell in love with Mindy Kaling’s humor and wit. I thoroughly enjoyed “Alternate Titles for This Book,” which was included in the introduction. As soon as I read, “Harry Potter Secret Book #8,” I knew I was in for a lot of laughs. This is the type of book that makes me think, “Okay, I really can write a book, except for the fact that I’m not as funny as Mindy.”

Mindy Kaling begins the autobiography speaking about her life as an awkward child, trying to find where she fit into this world; she was made fun of in school because of her weight. As Mindy grew up, she fell in love with comedy and making people laugh; she also learned to love herself and not let anyone put her down, a lesson all girls need to learn. (She mentions that peaking in high school leaves you nowhere to go but down, something I can defiantly agree with.)

Mindy Kaling graduated from Dartmouth. While in college, she worked as an intern for a brief period of time for the Conan O’Brien Show. Her first claim to fame is a play that she co-wrote with her best friend Brenda, and performed in, called Matt & Ben. The play is based on the friendship between Matt Damon and Ben Affleck. Mindy is most known for her role as Kelly Kapoor on The Office and also for her role on the writing staff.

I read Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling to Little Jimmie, my newborn. I kid you not, I sat in my rocking chair and rocked Little Jimmie to sleep while reading it. It probably wasn’t the most appropriate book to read to my 4-5 week old baby, but hey, I wanted to read it, and he likes the sound of my voice. (It seemed like a win-win to me, until his first word is an inappropriate one, then I may regret my bedtime reading choice.) Reading this book out loud to Jimmie made me laugh even more because every time I read a part that was not geared towards a child, (99% of the book) I couldn’t help but laugh louder. Next time, I may just stick with The Cat in The Hat.

Some of my favorite parts in Mindy’s book are: “Franchises I’d Like to Reboot” Pg.124, “How I Write” Pg. 140, “I Love Irish Exits” Pg. 159, “Why Do Men Put Their Shoes on So Slowly?” Pg. 188, and “Revenge Fantasies While Jogging” Pg. 198.

“Franchises I’d Like to Reboot:” I was almost rolling on the floor when I read that Mindy wanted to do a remake of A League of Their Own and play Rosie O’Donell’s part. I love that movie; a remake would be awesome.

“How I Write:” I can relate to trying to sit down and write something and then becoming distracted by everyone and everything, especially the internet.”So for every eight-hour day of writing, there is only one good productive hour of work being done,” (Pg. 143) story of my life.

“I Love Irish Exits:” I learned from Mindy Kaling that an “‘Irish Exit’ is when you leave a party without telling anyone.” (Pg. 159) I pretty much can relate to this whole chapter. Who wants to walk around and say goodbye to every single person at a party that they just spent hours with? I agree, just leaving is the best approach.

“Why Do Men Put on Their Shoes So Slowly?” This has been a question of my own for so long, and I am glad Mindy addressed it. We still do not have an answer, but at least I am not the only one who thinks this is an issue. “When I tie my shoelaces I can do it standing, and I’m out the door in about ten seconds.” (Pg. 188) Me too, Mindy, me too. So why does it take my husband forever? The world may never know…(Sorry, babe. Not like he reads my blog anyways…)

“Revenge Fantasies While Jogging:” These are just too funny. Go directly to page 198 and read them. They will give you more motivation to work out. Thanks to Mindy, I have even more motivation to lose my baby weight because of her revenge fantasies.

I really hope Mindy Kaling comes out with another book so that I can read it to Jimmie while I rock him to sleep. He learned so much from Mindy, from how to be an “awesome guy,” (Pg. 163) to how to act like a man, not a boy. (Pg. 176) Many life lessons were learned by all, plus Jimmie got some shut-eye,

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Leave a Reply

