Book Review: Baby Laughs: The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood by Jenny McCarthy

baby laughsI know what you’re thinking, “Wow Rosie, you made time to read a book since your baby has been born!” Yes and no. The only reason I had time to read Baby Laughs: The Naked Truth About the First Year of Mommyhood, is because I read it while breastfeeding; multitasking during the night while breastfeeding is the only way I can stay awake. I set this book next to my rocker and only read it at night. I also only tried to read it once Jimmie’s eyes were closed and was eating away so he wouldn’t see me multitasking. I know, I’m so considerate.

Needless to say, this book was a waste of my multitasking time. I LOVED Belly Laughs by Jenny McCarthy, which was the prequel to Baby Laughs. (I read it while I was pregnant.) Baby Laughs was not as laugh out loud as I expected it to be. To be honest, I don’t think I laughed once. Baby Laughs was dry and predictable. There weren’t a lot of original baby stories throughout the book. Anyone who has ever had a baby or has known someone to have a baby could have written a similar nonfiction novel, with ease.

I found Baby Laughs at a book sale and was really excited to read it; I didn’t even know there was a second book in the series. The book begins with Jenny McCarthy recounting her c-section and how she chose not to breastfeed because of her breast implants (I felt like I couldn’t relate to these situations because they didn’t happen to me.) She then goes on to talk about microwaving formula and giving a teething baby a frozen bagel. I almost lost it when I read that, I really think she was serious! I’m pretty sure you shouldn’t give a baby a frozen bagel. Since the book was published in 2006, I’m thinking maybe microwaving bottles back then was acceptable, but it certainly isn’t now.

As I’m writing this, I am reminded of the chapter where Jenny talks about not judging other moms (which is exactly what I’m doing.) But since this is a book review, I feel like I should tell it like it is; I am reviewing the book, not Jenny McCarthy herself. I completely agree with Jenny where she says we shouldn’t judge each other as mothers. It’s easier said than done, but it is something all of us moms should strive to not do. Parenting is based on individual needs, there is no right or wrong way of doing it, it’s just what works for you and your baby (except when it comes to microwaving a bottle,  you really really shouldn’t do that.)

Jenny McCarthy seems like a great mom. She just didn’t write a book about parenting as well as her book about being pregnant.

Leave a Reply

