The Silent Battle We All Have While Pregnant

TBT

September 2013 – February 2014 (28 weeks pregnant)

At first, I thought, “Finally, I can eat whatever I want, whenever I want!” Then, I saw the scale number start to rise and rise, and rise. Jim said to me, “Did you ever think you’d see that number on the scale?” Ummm NO, I didn’t. The constant battle of weight gain during pregnancy is unavoidable. You KNOW you have to gain weight, but that doesn’t make the number going up, and up, and up, any easier. The baby needs to grow, therefore YOU need to grow. But sometimes I wonder if I will even be “skinny” again.

Every once in a while, I look at the pictures we took the day we found out we were going to have a baby. I look skinnier than I remember. Not to toot my own horn, but I worked REALLY hard to get that body. I was going to the gym, doing T25, and doing Jillian Micahels DVDS (ripped in 30 and 30 day shred.) Sure, I went to the bakery (oh, I miss you Korea bakery) and I ate pizza EVERY Friday night (I miss you too, Pizza School.) But I was working hard and enjoying the results. (I also drank protein shakes for lunch, something I really miss.) I fit into my skinny jeans (pre-wedding jeans!!) and I was happy with the way I looked. How many times can you say in your life, “Damn, I look/ed good!”?

skinnyEven though I am doing my low impact workouts and not eating entire cakes, I am still gaining weight. And everyday that I get on the scale (probably not the best idea, but I’m addicted,) I tell myself, “It’s the baby growing, the baby needs to grow.” Plus, all of the other stuff that needs to happen to your body adds to your pregnancy weight gain. As long as the doctor is telling you that you haven’t gained too much weight, (I actually had to ASK) then you’re fine. Easier said than done, but I am starting to finally feel comfortable with my weight gain (talk to me again in 10 weeks when I’m about to POP and I will probably feel different.)

pregweightdiagram

Photo credit: Baby Your Baby

I have made a vow to myself that I’m getting back to my pre-pregnancy weight by August (September at the LATEST.) Making a goal for myself, helps me concentrate now on gaining the weight, because I KNOW I can lose it. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Jillian Michaels will be my BFF once I get cleared to work out again, her DVD’s REALLY work. I think they should put me on The Biggest Loser, Pregnancy Edition (as long as Baby M can come too!) I’d kick some serious mama butt!

Next time you get on the scale, and see your number go up, and up, and up. Remember, the baby is growing. He or she NEEDS to grow. Just tell yourself that over and over again. Eat food, don’t deny yourself something you really want, and feel good about your weight gain. You won’t be this big forever. As long as you promise yourself that you can lose it, then you WILL lose it. You have to make yourself accountable, because no one can make you do anything., except yourself.

One more tip: When you don’t feel like eating healthy or you don’t feel like working out, tell yourself it’s for the baby. We are not only trying to stay healthy for our own benefit, but also for the baby’s benefit.

2 thoughts on “The Silent Battle We All Have While Pregnant

  1. Mary v forlano says:

    Stress can also make you eat — you look marvelous my darling!!!! Like you said you are eating for two – so don’t sweat it – have a donut for me, a slice if pizza or a piece of cake! I’ll have a glass of wine for the both of us….deal???

Leave a Reply

