Baby M’s Nursery Sneak Peek!

In honor of Dr. Seuss’ Birthday week, his actual Birthday is March 2, I will let you all in on a not-so-secret little secret. The theme of our nursery is *drum roll please* Dr. Seuss. I know, you saw it coming, especially if you follow me on Pinterest or you have actually asked me what it is. I have also hinted at it in some of my baby bump pics, with the Dr. Seuss books that I have in the background. I wasn’t keeping it a secret, I just never made it publicly known until now. Throughout this week, I’ll show you bits and pieces of the nursery (which isn’t even close to being finished yet), but is definitely a lot further along than two weeks ago.

the lorax

The Lorax by Dr. Seuss

Why did we choose Dr. Seuss?  The most obvious reason being, of course, that I am obsessed with children’s literature (I was torn between a Dr. Seuss room and a Curious George room). The main reason Dr. Seuss won the race is because my dad started these awesome paintings, back in the summer, and they reminded me of The Lorax. He immediately regretted sending me pictures of the paintings because I then told them a) I wanted them and b) he now had an obligation to finish them. Since then, the two paintings that inspired the room have turned into five. He is also working on some other smaller wooden paintings that I absolutely love. He keeps threatening to throw them in the fireplace, but I will not allow that to happen. Oh, the life of an artist, always their own biggest critic, where as I am always his biggest fan. Have you seen his art on Pinterest? The artwork will not be done until closer to May (keep painting, Dad!) Wait for them and the big nursery reveal closer to my due date, which is May 19.

Not only is my dad creating special art for Baby M, my mother-in-law is also using her creativity to complete our nursery. Marge makes fabulous quilts and has already made us two: a patriotic quilt, that is on our sofa, and a t-shirt quilt, made from my old t-shirts. As soon as we decided on a theme, I went straight to the fabric store in Korea (I miss Happy Quilt) and picked up some Dr. Seuss fabric. Along with my fabric, and some cute fabric she found near her at The Quilt Block, Baby M’s quilt is going to be out-of-this-world. I am so excited to share it with you all closer to when the baby is born. I’m so lucky to have such a talented family that is willing to help with the nursery. I love one-of-a-kind items. The paintings and quilt will certainly be just that.

And now for the sneak peek pictures:

nursery 1

Hamper – Ikea /outlet plates – Etsy

Name reveal will be this week! Stay tuned! ❤

3 thoughts on “Baby M’s Nursery Sneak Peek!

    • Rosie says:

      The changing pad was already made and you can find it on Amazon or babies r us. I am actually posting the quilt my MIL made today and some of that fabric was found at Happy Quilt, there is one near Camp Humphreys in Pyeongtaek, I’m not sure about in Seoul, and then the rest she found here at a local quilt shop.

Leave a Reply

