Recipe: Oatmeal Waffles

waffle

Breakfast for dinner: my favorite! Last night, Jim was working late so I decided to cook myself some waffles; he isn’t a huge breakfast for dinner kind-of-guy. I took advantage of the situation of cooking for one, and whipped up these beauties.

My mom just gave me one of her three waffle irons, and I have been dying to make some waffles. Waffles were one of those things I missed a lot in Korea. On one of my visits home, I asked my mom to make them for me the first morning I was back. She took out a box of mix and I said, “Oh no, I want them from scratch!” Waffles from scratch just taste so much better. This time around, I wanted to make some healthy waffles, because we all know that waffles are full of carbs; I think I was somewhat successful in the “healthy” department. You be the judge!

I found this recipe on the Cuisinart site and thought it sounded easy and delicious. Boy, I was right on the money! Not only did these waffles smell amazing starting with the batter, but they tasted just as good. They’re made with oats and cottage cheese, which on a scale of 1 to 10 in my healthy book, that makes them a 10; full of protein and fiber, good for the growing baby in my belly!

Oatmeal Waffles

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups old-fashioned oats

3/4 cup unbleached flour (I’m going to buy some wheat flour for next time!)

3 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 eggs, slightly beaten

6 tablespoons oil

1/2 cup cottage cheese

1 cup fat-free (or reduced fat) milk

Directions:

1. Turn on waffle iron to warm up

2. Spray iron with cooking spray

3. Mix all ingredients in large bowl until blended into a smooth batter (I just mixed all of the wet and dry ingredients in at once, they’re all going into the same place, why dirty another bowl?)

4. Let sit for 5 minutes to thicken

5. Pour batter into large measuring cup for easy pouring into waffle iron (this recipe makes 3 cups of batter)

6. Pour batter into iron and allow to spread to the edges before closing (I used a spatula to move the process along)

7. Cook until your waffle iron indicates that the waffle is done

8. Serve warm with syrup (fruit and whip cream would be good too)

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Oatmeal Waffles

  1. Renee says:

    That recipe looks good – I am going to try it. In the south we have waffles and wings – just spicy fried chicken wings with waffles for dinner. Try it and see if your husband likes it – I raised boys and they love it! Good luck with the baby.

Leave a Reply

