Recipe: Individual Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug

cookieI was never a big believer in the whole, “You can make one chocolate chip cookie in the microwave in less than a minute.” I always thought, “Yea, okay, right.” But it’s true, you can, and I did!

I know I have been going on and on about how I haven’t had any real pregnancy cravings, but this week the cravings set in, and they hit hard. Everything I have been craving is sweet. (At least it’s not paint, right? They warn you about that!) This baby is going to like chocolate, that’s for sure.

Since it’s so cold out, I refuse to leave the house. Starbucks is obviously out of the question, since that would require me to step outside into the unforgiving winter. I decided to take matters in my own hands and give this “chocolate chip cookie in a mug craze” a fair shot. I could have just made a whole batch of cookies but A) I would have ate them ALL and B) I didn’t have enough chocolate chips. As I type this, I am fighting the urge to go make another cookie in a cup, because that’s only TWO cookies, right? And they are THAT good. Will power: you have the least amount when you need it most. Sure, you can give into your cravings, but eating a whole batch of cookies is most likely considered unacceptable. (But hey, it that’s your thing, I won’t judge you.)

Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug Recipe

cookie 2

Serves 1 (don’t you dare share)

Ingredients: 

1 Tablespoon butter

1 Tablespoon white sugar

1 Tablespoon brown sugar (packed)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 egg yolk

3 Tablespoons white flour

2 Tablespoons chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Melt butter in mug for 30 seconds in the microwave

2. Stir in white sugar, brown sugar, salt, and vanilla until blended

3. Add yolk and mix well

4. Toss in flour and stir it up (the consistency will start to look like regular cookie batter)

5. Finally, add the best part, the chocolate chips, and mix evenly

6. Cook in microwave for 50 seconds to a minute (checking after 50 seconds)

Note: I cooked mine a little longer since I’m pregnant and didn’t want to somehow get salmonella from uncooked egg. The edges started to brown which was after about a minute and a half. I also have a low wattage microwave.

I kept wondering as I was “cooking,” why isn’t there any baking soda/powder in this recipe? The answer is still unknown, but it works, I pink swear! Try it for yourself. (I did read that adding 1/6 teaspoon baking powder would make it fluffier, so I’ll try that tomorrow…I mean next time.) I may be making these a lot more often than not for the rest of this pregnancy. One cookie a day keeps the pregnancy cravings at bay!

Original recipe found at The Comfort of Cooking

One thought on “Recipe: Individual Chocolate Chip Cookie in a Mug

Leave a Reply

