Staying Fit and Eating Healthy While Pregnant

Before I got pregnant (or more likely, just when I got pregnant,) I was in the midst of beginning my T25 journey. I was on week two when I missed my period and literally sat on my couch in Korea for a week. We were trying to get pregnant and when I didn’t get my period, and all the tests I took were negative, I thought my new workout was affecting my chances of getting pregnant. So I stopped, and sat on the couch and waited for my period to come. It never did.

Almost 2 weeks later, I took 3 more tests, and they were positive. Instead of getting back into some kind of workout regiment, I continued to sit on the couch. Then, a few weeks before we left Korea, I told myself I had to get back to the gym. I went back for about a week and then we started the big move back to America. Once again, I stopped working out and then this time I started eating  poorly. Magically, I still ended up being underweight at my first appointment in America, but I still felt bad about not working out.

Fast forward past Christmas when I went to the doctor’s again and they said I was cutting it close to being the right weight, or a little bit over, I panicked and realized I had to make changes.

It’s REALLY hard to stay motivated to eat healthy when you’re pregnant. You want to eat everything, and you think you can, but you can’t. I have been lucky that I haven’t had many cravings, but I still want to eat stuff that isn’t good for me; I especially want Chic-fil-a whenever I see it because I couldn’t get it in Korea. Since my 21 week appointment, I have been trying harder to stay healthy and stay fit.

healthy eatingWhat have I been eating?

Snacks: I have been drinking more Naked Juice to try to get extra fruits and veggies (loving the new veggie ones!!) in my system. I like snacking on whole wheat bread with soy nut butter and a sliced up banana on top. . My biggest issue is eating too much at dinner, and then snacking all night long, but I try to keep “healthy” snacks in the house so that at least I’m not snacking on cookies. I like to snack on whole wheat Ritz crackers with low-fat cream cheese or chunks of cheddar cheese. For something sweet, I like munching on Quaker blueberry rice crackers. I also load up on water throughout the entire day, sometimes when you think you’re hungry, you’re just dehydrated.

Meals: I eat cereal for breakfast with a cup of juice (Cheerios, Life, Chex). For lunch, I make an egg sandwich or eat yogurt with cottage cheese and a fruit cup (or a whole piece of fruit.) For dinner we usually have some kind of chicken or turkey based meat meal with a vegetable and a salad.

 How do I workout? Everyone keeps telling me to keep moving, but it’s easier said than done. I want to have a healthy pregnancy, not only for me, but also for my baby. I want to be in shape and I definitely don’t want to be overweight after I deliver. I was at my skinniest before I got pregnant, and I plan on being back to that by the end of the summer.  I am trying to do some on demand workouts on TV (through Comcast) and trying to walk Toby even more, weather permitting. Forcing myself to workout is harder now than it was before I was pregnant, but I know it has to be done, so I do it. If you have Comcast, check out these videos online, they’re awesome! You have to log into your Comcast account to watch these videos. If you do not have Comcast, I’m sure you can find similar videos on Youtube. I have been doing the one mile workout and am about to move onto the two mile workout.

It’s never too late to start getting in shape and eating healthy before your baby’s birth. I’m not trying to lose weight because that’s a big no-no, but, I am trying to gain it at a steady pace. I also want to get back in shape so that I can have an easy (hah, if that’s even possible) delivery. I also want to eat healthy now so that I can continue to eat healthy after the baby is born.I’m not an expert but just a first-time pregnant mom, trying to do my best. Hope this helps you too! Make sure you check with your doctor before starting a brand new workout.

2 thoughts on “Staying Fit and Eating Healthy While Pregnant

Leave a Reply

