Recipe: Soy Nut Butter Blossom Cookies

100_6135For peanut/tree nut allergy suffers the holidays can be rough. There are so many delicious goodies made with nuts, and you just have to look at them and salivate. Alas, I have recovered one guilty pleasure that I don’t have to live without anymore.

My sister-in-law used to make these amazing cookies for me (before I was allergic to peanut butter.) Apparently, their traditional name is “Peanut Butter Blossoms,” but I just called them the yummy cookies with the Hershey kiss on top. As Christmas is creeping up, I thought about these cookies and how much I missed them. I figured trying them with soy nut butter wouldn’t hurt. So I looked up a recipe, made them, and then ate them….all. Just kidding, I wanted to bring them to Christmas Eve dinner, since I normally can’t eat all of the seven fishy foods everyone makes (shellfish allergy sufferer as well). Not eating the main course, leaves more room for me to enjoy desert.

Soy Nut Butter Blossom Cookies

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup soy nut butter (I use this brand)

1 1/4 cup flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

granulated sugar for rolling dough in

1 bag of Hershey kisses

Directions:

1. Cream butter until smooth

2. Add white sugar, brown sugar, egg, and soy nut butter

3. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt

4. Use a spatula to scoop out dough and place it into plastic wrap

5. Wrap the dough and put it in the freezer for 30 minutes

6. Set oven to 375 degrees F

7. When dough is done in the freezer, roll into small/medium dough balls

8. Roll in sugar and place on ungreased pan

9. Bake 9-11 minutes, until bottom and tops are lightly brown (do no overcook or Hershey kiss will not smoosh in)

10. Take out of oven and press Hershey kiss onto each cookie (make sure you unwrap the kisses while the cookies are baking. I forgot to do this and was unwrapping the candy like a chicken with it’s head cut off, trying to get the kiss on before the cookie cooled)

11. Let cool on pan for 1 minute (I wouldn’t leave them on the pan too long because then the chocolate starts to melt.)

12. Remove from baking sheet and place on cooling rack or wax paper

13. Store in airtight container

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

100_6134

Original recipe from Just a Little Cracked

One thought on “Recipe: Soy Nut Butter Blossom Cookies

Leave a Reply

