Recipe: Out of this World Homemade Bulgogi

bulgogi

Here’s a fun, quick, and easy way to make Korean bulgogi at home. When I made it the first time, I was skeptical, but after tasting it, I became a lifetime fan. It really does taste like the real deal. I’m obviously a Korean food connoisseur since I have lived in Korea for the past year and a half, so when I say it taste authentic, I mean it.

Along with the beef, I make rice, cucumber kimchi (2 cucumbers, peeled and sliced; 3 tablespoons sugar; and  ½ tablespoon crushed red pepper flakes (the Korean kind, not the kind you find in the normal spice aisle). I also like to buy some frozen mandu and steam them on the stove.

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 tsp ginger

1/2-1 teaspoon crushed Korean red peppers (add more for added spiciness)

salt and pepper to taste

a bunch of green onions (I use about 8 scallions, only the white parts diced)

 

Directions:

1.  Dice green onions up before starting to cook. (I know this is a given, but I always forget to prep and then I’m running around the kitchen trying to cut, cook, and not start a fire.)

2.  Add beef, garlic (I used 1 teaspoon of jarred garlic, so not traditional Korean, but I hate mashing, pealing, and cutting garlic), and sesame oil to a large skillet and brown beef over medium heat.

3.  Drain all (or most) of fat after the meat is brown.

4.  Toss brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, crushed red peppers, salt, pepper, and green onions into the skillet.

5.  Cook for 3-4 minutes on low, while stirring occasionally, so that all of the flavors blend together nicely.

6.  Serve over rice with cucumber kimchi and mandu on the side.

Original recipe adapted from Six Sisters Stuff

Directions:

1.  Dice green onions up before starting to cook. I know this is a given, but I always forget to prep and then I’m running around the kitchen trying to cut, cook, and not start a fire.

2.  Add beef, garlic (I used 1 teaspoon of jarred garlic, so not traditional Korean, but I hate mashing, pealing, and cutting garlic), and sesame oil to a large skillet and brown beef over medium heat.

3.  Drain all (or most) of fat after the meat is brown.

4.  Toss brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, crushed red peppers, salt, pepper, and green onions into the skillet.

5.  Cook for 3-4 minutes on low, while stirring occasionally, so that all of the flavors blend together nicely.

6.  Serve over rice with cucumber kimchi and mandu on the side.

– See more at: http://koreaye.com/2013/09/quick-and-easy-bulgogi-recipe.html#sthash.TzoL42sY.dpuf

Directions:

1.  Dice green onions up before starting to cook. I know this is a given, but I always forget to prep and then I’m running around the kitchen trying to cut, cook, and not start a fire.

2.  Add beef, garlic (I used 1 teaspoon of jarred garlic, so not traditional Korean, but I hate mashing, pealing, and cutting garlic), and sesame oil to a large skillet and brown beef over medium heat.

3.  Drain all (or most) of fat after the meat is brown.

4.  Toss brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, crushed red peppers, salt, pepper, and green onions into the skillet.

5.  Cook for 3-4 minutes on low, while stirring occasionally, so that all of the flavors blend together nicely.

6.  Serve over rice with cucumber kimchi and mandu on the side.

– See more at: http://koreaye.com/2013/09/quick-and-easy-bulgogi-recipe.html#sthash.TzoL42sY.dpuf

One thought on “Recipe: Out of this World Homemade Bulgogi

Leave a Reply

