Review: T25 – Day 1 (week 1) – Cardio: “I hate saying, ‘I like exercising’ — I want to punch people who say that.” – Jennifer Lawrence

Today I started T25 with Shaun T, the creator of Insanity, I wanted to start blogging about my T25 journey to make myself accountable for working out. I HATE working out, just like my Birthday twin, Jennifer Lawrence.

Over the winter, I lost about 9 pounds with Jillian Michaels. I did her 30 Day Shred video and her Ripped in 30 video. This took about three months. Along with the videos, I also went to the gym. I was in the best shape I had ever been in and I felt great. \

I managed to go back to the states from Korea in April, eat a TON of American food, and come back to Korea weighing LESS than I did when I left. Back in NJ: I went to the gym, ran outside, and ate bigger lunches with smaller dinners. When I came back to Korea, it was hot and I was tired of trying so hard to stay skinny. I gained a few pounds back and lost most of my muscles that I worked so hard to get. I didn’t regress all the way back to what I weighted after this past Christmas, but I didn’t like how I looked again or the fact that I could feel my clothes getting a little tighter.I was proud of the way I looked in April, and I wanted to get back to it. Also I really like pizza like J.Law.

pizza

Last week I tried to get back to my Jillian Michaels DVDs, but I wasn’t feeling the excitement from her this time. I had been hearing so much about T25 with Shaun T, that I decided it was worth a shot. So here I am, day 1 of a 10 week program. There are 5 workouts a week for five weeks for the Alpha Phase and then 5 workouts a week for five weeks in the Beta phase.

Today’s workout for day 1, week one was Cardio. There is a big clock in the lower left hand corner of the screen that counts down your workout. There is a quick warm up and then you are off to cardio land for the duration of your workout. (There is a separate cool down that lasts a few minutes after the actual cardio workout ends.) This is non-stop, sweat your butt off, kind of workout.

I was definitely pushed to my limits on day 1. There are several workout buddies on the screen, as well as Shaun T to motivate you throughout the entire workout. Tania, who is the modifier throughout the entire T25 program, is there to help those, like me, who don’t have the endurance to do the entire workout to full-scale. I switched back and forth bet ween the modifier and then regular workout buddies. I was able to do jumping jacks, high knees, and kicks to full-scale, but when it came to some of the lunge workouts, I stuck with Tania. Eventually, I plan to be able to do the full workout without having to modify anything, but until then, I am more than happy to have a modifier.

There are no breaks in T25; you are moving from start to finish. I stopped a few times to get a drink a water, but other than that, I sucked it up and pushed through. My legs are tired, my arms are tired, but I can honestly say the workout went fast! There wasn’t enough time to think about how tired I was because by the time I got sore from one move, we were onto the next, The thing I like most about this program was the fact that the time clock didn’t only tell me how much time I had left for the whole program, it also told me how  much time I had left for each exercise with a little yellow moving line, as well as which exercise was next; this motivated me to work a little harder because I knew when it would soon be over.

Tomorrow I will move on to day 2, which is Total Body Circuit. I also have my first ever massage tomorrow, which will be much-needed!

In case you are wondering, these are all of my own opinions. No one asked me to review T25. I am doing this to challenge myself and give myself accountability to complete this workout series.

5 thoughts on “Review: T25 – Day 1 (week 1) – Cardio: “I hate saying, ‘I like exercising’ — I want to punch people who say that.” – Jennifer Lawrence

  1. MC says:

    I have tried both Jillian Michaels ones and I wonder if it’s just her way of doing it that you only do it once and then you want to move on since I felt the same way. I might have to look into T25 but it sounds a bit scary 🙂

    PS So glad I found your blog! Tons of interesting reading 🙂 *waves from an army post in Germany*

    Pearls, Diamonds and Everything Else

    • Rosie says:

      It’s not scary at all! It’s funny because I saw a bunch of hits from Germany and I said wow that’s a lot from there! Now I know who it’s from :o) I actually have a friend from Korea who is visiting Germany right now and I also have a good friend who is stationed there with her husband! I would have rather have been there than here. How do you like it?

      • MC says:

        I dont love our post because its in a very rural area but I love Germany and how easy it is to travel and just get in a car and go sightseeing. I will definitely miss it!

Leave a Reply

