“Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” -Anne Shirley

cal

It’s August, finally! I really thought July was NEVER going to end, but here we are, IN MY BIRTHDAY MONTH!!! I was a huge slacker in July when it came to blogging, especially towards the end. I haven’t been busy, it’s actually been raining A LOT, but I just haven’t felt like blogging. So I’ll give ya a little update about what’s going on!

We are officially moving to Ft. Meade, Maryland, in December. When I say officially, I mean we don’t have paper orders yet, but it’s as official as it’s ever going to get until my butt is on the plane, leaving Korea; which is going to be mid November. I have already started looking at amazing restaurants to go to and review; most of them are Mexican places, oh how I miss good Mexican food.

We are super excited about this move because we are going to be SO close to our families and friends. We will only be 120 miles from my parents and about 100 miles from Jim’s parents. Hello long weekends instead of taking leave to visit! Now, we may actually get a vacation. We really haven’t had one since our honeymoon. Sure, we live in Korea, which people think is always a vacation, NOT, and we lived in Florida (it was basically a vacation for me, but Jim was in school) so we are looking forward to a cruise, and Disney World.

I’m getting REALLY restless, with roughly 102 days to go, I can not function properly anymore. I am constantly thinking about how the end is SO close, yet still seems SO far. I can’t stop thinking about packing, I can’t stop thinking about cleaning, and I can’t stop thinking about Chic-fil-a and Target. The past two times I have had a countdown, it was bittersweet because I knew I had to come  back to Korea and face at least 6 more months of being here, but this countdown is different. It’s a goodbye to Korea, hopefully forever. I know I have said I don’t hate Korea, it’s just I am so over it. I’m so over not having my car, not having a job, not having my family and friends, not having my freedom. It seriously feels like I am trapped in this apartment most of the time, dreaming of being back in the land of shopping and fast food. Momma said there’d be days like this….

I can’t wait to find a house with a YARD, where we can GRILL, and not have to walk Toby every single time he has to pee. (He needs to learn that the yard is going to be his new best friend for relieving himself.) This whole up and down the elevator HAS to stop. I also need central air and normal heat, and a kitchen bigger than a storage closet. Oh, but how I am going to miss my Korean snacks and food. The good friends I met here, and well…that’s about it. I’m ready to go on to bigger and better things. I’m ready to start living in the present.

Remember how far you’ve come, not just how far you have to go. You are not where you want to be, but neither are you where you used to be.Rick Warren

2 thoughts on ““Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?” -Anne Shirley

  1. Mary V Forlano says:

    Must have goofed up my first reply … always enjoy your blog – and I know how excited you are about coming home! You and Jim will be here before you know it … in the meantime — keep enjoying that adventure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

