Book Review: Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich

big girl panties

Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich is knee-slapping funny, as well as sexy. It would make a great beach read or even a motivational gym read.

Holly Brennan never thought she would find love. When she met Bruce, she wasn’t just happy, but also relieved that she wouldn’t have to spend the rest of her life alone. After being married for eight years, Bruce died from illness and left Holly with a mansion, a BMW, and tons of money. Money couldn’t buy happiness or even love, but it could buy a personal trainer.

Holly is overweight and is right on the verge of requiring two seats on an airplane. When traveling back from Toronto, tying up the last of her late husband’s estate, she meets Logan Montgomery: tall, dark, and handsome. Not only is he in perfect shape, but he actually ends up being a really nice guy, after insulting her weight with his eyes.

Logan offers to become Holly’s personal trainer because he feels bad for judging her and also because he hasn’t been feeling challenged enough when working with sports stars and movie stars. Reluctantly, Holly accepts and begins her training three days a week. Holly is not only challenging herself physically, but also emotionally when it comes to the rich and famous Logan Montgomery.

As soon as I saw the title of this book, I was intrigued. Not only did the synopsis sound interesting, but also because Stephanie Evanovich is a Jersey girl, just like me. I love supporting local authors by bringing their novel to the attention of my readers.

Big Girl Panties is hilarious. From the moment I picked it up to the moment I put it down, I couldn’t stop laughing. I couldn’t read this book fast enough, it was that good. I loved the relationship between Holly and Logan. Their relationship evolved throughout the novel at a natural pace that screamed perfection. I also loved the tie in of baseball. Any romance novel with hints of baseball in it is an A+ in my book.

I found Holly to be very inspiring. She had been overweight her whole life, but what took her over the edge was the death of her husband. After his death, she reached obesity, but then recognized that she needed to do something about it. Meeting Logan on the plane was perfect timing. She was able to displace all of her emotions and focus of getting into shape. Her goal wasn’t to be the skinniest girl in the room, but her goal was to be happy and healthy; which is what exercise should be all about.

The only part of the story that I found very strange is the obsession that Logan’s best friend, Chase, has with spanking. I never really understood the whole S&M obsession with people, which is why I never read 50 Shades of Grey, and I found myself mildly disturbed with the spanking scenes in this novel. Amanda, Chase’s wife, reluctantly took her spankings when she was being “bad.” This totally blew my mind; but hey, to each their own.

The best lesson that comes from this novel is that you have to love yourself. Holly learns that being a certain size isn’t important. What’s important is loving yourself, no matter what, so that others can love you too.

Big Girl Panties will be available on July 9, 2013. Head over to Amazon and pre-order your copy today.

I was given an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

