Military Discount: Please Touch Children’s Museum in Philadelphia, PA

From Memorial Day to Labor Day the Please Touch Museum, as well as many other museums across the country, are taking part in the Blue Stars Program. Any active military member (or spouse of an active military member) can visit for free plus up to five other family members. Read more about the program here. Updated July 2015.

While I was back visiting my family, I wanted to do something really fun with my nephew. There are a lot of kid friendly places to go in the Philadelphia area, and since we went to the zoo and aquarium last time I was home,  I thought the Please Touch Museum was a perfect place to go this time around.

100_5020

The Please Touch Museum is located in Philadelphia near Fairmount Park. Children under one are free and everyone over one are $16. Prior to going to the museum, I checked on their website to see if they had a military discount. I didn’t find one on the site, but I decided to ask before purchasing tickets, just in case. I’m really glad I asked because I was able to get myself and one other person in for FREE. Each active duty military card holder (dependent card holder included) is able to get themselves and one other person in for free, so if my husband was there too he would have been free, as well as and one other person. (Parking is not included in this discount and costs $8 per car.)

100_5018

The museum itself is awesome. There were eight interactive exhibits for children of all ages to play in. Children from ages six months (there isn’t too much to do for this age group but they could still crawl around and explore in some areas if they have older siblings ) to about eight years old would enjoy themselves at the Please Touch Children’s Museum.

100_4910

100_4914

My nephew is almost a year and a half and he had a blast. He loved playing in the water area as well as the musical instrument area; the whole museum was his playground, a playground without a ton of rules. He was able to push a shopping cart in a make-believe grocery store, dress up as a knight, and play doctor .

100_5004

100_4955

100_4993

I personally loved the Alice in Wonderland section the best. There you can have a tea party with the mad hatter, paint the roses red, and get lost in a maze full of magic.

100_4962

100_4944

Check out other military discounts in Philadelphia here. Looks like we’ll be visiting the Art Museum and the Battleship New Jersey in November. Even though we still go to places that do not offer military discounts, it’s always nice to save a little here and there.

Leave a Reply

