The Silver Linings Playbook Diners

Since I am back visiting the best country in the world, I decided to pay a visit to the two diners that are considered the “Silver Linings” diners. The Crystal Lake Diner, located in Collingswood, NJ, is  featured in the book The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick, and The Llanerch Diner, which is located in Upper Darby, PA,  is featured in the movie adaption. I love being a tourist in the areas I have grown up in. My mom and dad are both from the Upper Darby area, and they now only live about 20 minutes away from Collingswood, in the same house I grew up in. Crystal

llanerch

The Crystal Lake Diner isn’t playing up the fact that it is featured in a book, but The Llanerch Diner must be making bank because they are selling mugs ($8.00) and T-shirts ($14.95). (I bought the T-shirt because I have WAY too many mugs and the collection continues to grow.) They even have a special sign where Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence sat in the movie. I sat where Jennifer sat and made my mom take a picture. The people that work there probably thought I was nuts, but they said they see it every day. Unfortunately, we did not sit in the booth for our meal, it was occupied when we arrived.

tshirt

mugs

booth

The food at both diners was great! I had french toast and pork roll at The Crystal Lake Diner and I had a ham and cheese omelet and cheesy grits and The Llanerch Diner.

 

Leave a Reply

