Book Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

someday

Franny Banks is a struggling actress, living in Brooklyn, New York. She is in her mid 20’s, doing what all struggling actors do: going to auditions during the day and waiting tables at night. Franny, who is named after a character in the short stories “Franny and Zooey” by J.D. Salinger, lives with her best friend from college, Jane, and Jane’s brother’s friend, Dan. She has given herself a three year deadline to make a name for herself in the big city. If she isn’t the next big-thing after three years, she has promised her dad she will return home to Connecticut, become a teacher, and marry her college sweetheart. With only six months left to succeed, Franny has to find an agent, book some jobs, and prove to everyone, but mainly herself, that she can be the successful actress she’s always wanted to be.

As soon as I found out that Lauren Graham, actress who played Lorelai on Gilmore Girls and currently plays Sarah Braverman on Parenthood, wrote a book, I knew I had to read it. Gilmore Girls is one of my all-time favorite shows and I also really enjoy Parenthood, I couldn’t make it through one episode this season without crying. Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham is delightfully funny. It’s cute in a very Gilmore Girl kind-of-way; so many of the scenes reminded me Lauren Graham’s character on the show.

Every character in this story is fast-talking and quick-moving, much like the characters on Gilmore Girls. Franny kept me smiling, laughing, and entertained, throughout the entire novel; she is a very loveable character. Dan and Jane are also enjoyable characters. I fell in love with Dan’s kindness and his own dreams to become a screenplay writer. Jane is the kind of best friend everyone wants and needs, supportive and honest.

Franny’s quirks are what make her such a unique character. She is a very superstitious person who believes that if she does something a certain way, or resists checking her answering machine for a certain amount of time, something good will happen or something bad won’t happen. She always looks both ways, three times, on one-way streets, and carries her filofax (personal organizer) everywhere she goes. Franny is hopeful about her career, but also realistic. She understands that if everyone could act, the industry would not be as special as it is known to be.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is set in 1995, before cell phones were popular. Franny is always aware of where the payphones are, wherever she may be, just in case she needs to call someone about a job or about a date. I forgot about how inconvenient it was to go home and check an answering machine or use a pay phone to call someone if you were not at home to do so. Each chapter starts with all of the messages that Franny missed while she was out of the apartment. Sometimes they are from her dad, sometimes they are from a friend, sometimes they are about an audition, and sometimes they are from a guy. Franny definitely could benefit from a cell phone.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is the type of book that makes you want to write your own book. It gave me confidence that someday, I can be a successful writer just like Lauren Graham…maybe. I really want to call her up and tell her that she did a wonderful job on her first novel and how she made me feel good about myself, in a way that I don’t think I have ever felt after reading a book.

I enjoyed the entire book up until the very end. It left me wanting so much more, which seems to be happening more often than not, these days, when I am reading. I kept hoping there was another chapter, but there wasn’t. I am sad that I am done reading the novel, but hopeful that maybe there will be a follow-up, soon.

Now, all I want to watch the entire series of Gilmore Girls from start to finish, all over again, to get my Lauren Graham fix. She is simply wonderful and inspiring.

According to Random House Publishing, Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham is semi-autobiographical. Lauren’s debut novel hits shelves on April 30. You can order your copy here. You can also listen to an audio excerpt read by Ms. Graham herself, here.

I was given an ARC e-book in exchange for an honest review.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

      • MC says:

        I agree and it’s such a family oriented show….you know the kind of crazy quirky big family that would be fun to have when things get tough

Leave a Reply

