Rosie’s Favorite Quotes: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

quotes

stars

Sometimes you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. – Hazel, pg.33

Everyone in this tale has a rock-solid hamartia: hers, that she is so sick; yours, that you are so well. Were she better or you sicker, then the stars would not be so terribly crossed, but it is the nature of stars to cross, and never was Shakespeare more wrong than when he has Cassius note, “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars/ But in ourselves.” Easy enough to say when you’re a Roman nobleman (or Shakespeare!), but there is no shortage of fault to be found amid our stars. – Peter Van Houten, pg.111-112

…I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once. – Hazel, pg.124

I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself simple pleasures of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that there will come a day when all of our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you. – Augustus, pg. 153

People always get used to beauty, though. – Augustus, pg. 164

I believe the universe wants to be noticed. I think the universe is improbably biased toward consciousness, that it rewards intelligence in part because the universe enjoys its elegance being observed. And who am I, living in the middle of history, to tell the universe that it – or my observation of it – is temporary. – Hazel’s dad, Pg. 223

 It seemed like forever ago, like we’d had this brief but still infinite forever. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. – Hazel, pg. 233

…my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful. – Hazel, pg. 260

You are going to live a good and long life filled with great and terrible moments that you cannot even imagine yet. – Augustus, pg. 272

My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations. – Augustus, pg. 311

The real heroes anyways aren’t the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, paying attention. – Augustus, pg. 312

Leave a Reply

