Starbucks Dolce Latte in Asia

starbucks1

Today I tried the new Asian inspired latte at Starbucks in South Korea, Starbucks Dolce Latte (not to be confused with the Cinnamon Dolce Latte,) and I have to say, it was nothing special. It didn’t taste much, if at all, different than a regular latte. I’m not saying it was bad, because I love almost every Starbucks drink, but it wasn’t anything to rave about. Starbucks Dolce Latte is only being offered in Asia, which is why I decided to try it, and I probably won’t get it again. The sign says “Espresso & milk. Perfectly harmonized.” As opposed to what, the unharmonized way lattes are usually made?

It pretty much looks like a Caramel Macchiato without the caramel. Way to get creative, Starbucks. Dolce means “sweet” in Italian and it may have been a little sweeter than regular lattes, but then again, it’s hard to tell because Starbucks here doesn’t taste the same as back in the States. Maybe Starbucks can ship us some cinnamon dolce syrup or some sugar free syrups next time they decide to be fancy. (I must admit that the Cranberry White Chocolate Mocha was one of the best Starbucks drinks I have ever had, which was only offered around the holidays here in Korea.)

According to this article, my latte was supposed to have whip cream and espresso shavings on top, I had neither. I’m going to have to go back and investigate. Maybe I’ll ask them for a recipe card.

#formerStarbucksbaristaproblems

Leave a Reply

