The Books that Pat Peoples Read in The Silver Linings Playbook

Much like Charlie in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Pat Peoples reads quite a few books throughout the novel The Silver Linings Playbook. The difference is that Charlie enjoyed reading and was given  books to read by his high school teacher as extra instruction, where as Pat was trying to impress his wife by reading all of the books she taught in her American Literature class.

Here are the books Pat read, and described in detail, in regards to whether or not the book had a silver lining at the end:

fitz

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I think I read this in high school, but I can not be 100% sure about it.

hem

A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway – I have never read this novel, but Pat was not too happy about the ending.

haw

Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne – We read this in high school and it wasn’t horrible but then again I did not appreciate the classics back then. Read it for FREE on your Kindle.

plath

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – This novel is on my to-read list this year. It has been on my wish list since last year and I’m really looking forward to reading it, even though I now know the ending because of Pat’s angry rant about it.

twain

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain – I read this in my American Literature class in college and I enjoyed it. Read it for FREE on your Kindle.

salin

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – I read this after reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower and then again in my Young Adult Literature class and I hated it both times.  I know everyone raves about this book, but I hated it even more the second time I read it, which I didn’t even know was possible; Holden Caulfield just rubs me the wrong way.

One thought on “The Books that Pat Peoples Read in The Silver Linings Playbook

Leave a Reply

