Book Review: Nice Is Just a Place in France: How to Win at Basically Everything by The Betches

betches

Nice Is Just a Place in France by The Betches is a self-help guide for girls who don’t want to be the “nice girl” anymore and want to take control of their lives. The Betches have an online magazine type blog where they dish on celebrities, gossip, give advice, and just say whatever the heck they want to say. I love reading the weekly Bachelor recaps and Pretty Little Liars recaps because they never cease to make me laugh. This book is not for anyone who frowns upon cursing and/or inappropriate remarks.

This self-help book was comical (even though The Betches say this isn’t an actual self-help book and it’s definitely not a guide to happiness.) I really couldn’t take any of it seriously and most of the time if I wasn’t laughing, I was semi-offended. This would have been a better read for someone who is single/just dating someone and is between the ages of 16 and 24. It would be good for girls in high school or girls still into partying in college. My partying days are way over and a lot of the advice just made think, “I hope I didn’t act like that in college.”

This is not a book for feminists. I wouldn’t put in my biography that I am an extreme feminst, but The Betches did take it a little too far at some points by saying how women shouldn’t be too aggressive and should always let other people do stuff for you. The chapter on careers did make me laugh out loud though. The Betches said how women had it made 100 years ago, when all we had to do is look good and give birth. I’d love to walk around in dresses every day, but these days people are always asking, “Why are you dressed up? Where are you going?” Can’t I just look nice?

Some of the other topics that The Betches talk about include: diets, exercise, dating, and the image you give off to other people (hair, makeup, nails, what to wear/not to wear.) Famous women that are talked about in the book that can be referred to as betches are: Snooki, Kris Jenner, and Victoria Beckham.

The funniest part of the whole book was the section on tanning. I love to tan; it’s when my full on Jersey girl/Italian girl sides come out and I was just cracking up during this section. I also laughed a lot during the Facebook section of the book. Oh Facebook, can’t live with it, can’t live without it. Will there ever be a time without Facebook?

I liked all of the random quotes that were plopped into the middle of each section of the book and the Friends (LOVE that show) reference about how guys and girls really can’t be friends. The thing I didn’t like about the book was the drug references. I would have enjoyed the book as more of a stand up comedian act if it weren’t for the constant drug references; those should have been left out and were really inappropriate.

Sometimes we need to take a break from all of our serious book reads and have a good laugh. Nice Is Just a Place in France is just that, a book to laugh at and not read between the lines.  This isn’t a type of book you pick for your next book club read but it definitely is the type of book you can read at the gym while sitting on the bike pretending to workout.

Nice Is Just a Place in France: How to win at Basically Everything will be released on March 12, 2013. In the meantime, you can go check out The Betches blog, Betches Love This.

I was given an ARC e-book of this book in return for an honest review.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Nice Is Just a Place in France: How to Win at Basically Everything by The Betches

    • Rosie says:

      I don’t believe all women define themselves as feminists. I have altered my words in hopes that I will not offend anyone else. Point being said, the book is offensive.

  1. Rebecca says:

    It’s tragic to see the writer of this article proclaim that she is “far from” a feminist. If indeed this is the case then perhaps in future she should leave publishing book reviews to the men. She is after all, a mere woman.

    • Rosie says:

      I altered my words in hopes that I do not offend anyone else. I was merely stating that I am not marching up and down “fighting” for equal rights, as some people do. Which is totally fine by me, just not my thing. With that being said, I was still offended by a lot in the book.

  2. Liz says:

    A feminist is just someone who believes in equal rights for all people you said you are “far” from a feminist… So you are far from someone that believes in equal rights for all people? Smh

    • Rosie says:

      I’m sorry I offended you. This book is obviously a humorous book and my words were not meant to be taken so seriously. Of course I believe in equal rights but I’m also not marching up and down in front of the White House either. I was just plainly stating, this book could be extremely offensive to some people, and you have to look at it with a grain of salt. I altered my wording, hopefully women will not find me offensive from here on out.

  3. Chelle says:

    Sorry to see everyone kicking up a stink about the “Feminist” remark. I’m not offended by it. I don’t believe you had any intention to offend. I also understand what you were trying to say.
    Thanks for writing the review. Think I might have to go buy the book.

  4. Lindsey says:

    Yeah I bought the book after seeing much internet hype about it and honestly, I couldn’t even finish the first few chapters. I was so incredibly offended by everything that was being “joked” about and suggested. I guess I’m too much of a feminist for this sort of humour. 💃🏻💆🏻

Leave a Reply

