“Love is the answer, at least for most of the questions in my heart.” – Jack Johnson

poem7

Tomorrow is our two-year Wedding Anniversary! I can not believe two whole years have gone by since we promised to love each other forever and ever. Since then, we have said goodbye, with tears in our eyes, too many times to count. But with every goodbye, comes an amazing hello. One of the best parts of the military life is being able to experience your first kiss over and over again with the person you love most in this world.

poem3

This is our first Anniversary that we are able to spend together, and lucky us, Jim actually has off from work. We are hoping to spend our Anniversary in Seoul this year. It’s nice to be on the same continent for our very special day. Our wedding song was “Better Together” by Jack Johnson, and it is always so much better when we are together.

poem10

I wrote this song on my way home from Pensacola when I was visiting Jim is AIT, two summers ago. I’m hoping maybe Taylor Swift sees this and decides to turn it into a Country love song; I think it would be a hit.  Saying goodbye hasn’t become any easier, and I don’t think it ever will. Let’s hope we don’t have too many more goodbyes in our future.

poem8

Her sweetheart is leaving,

She doesn’t want to say goodbye.

She’s trying so hard,

Not to let her sadness show.

She loves him so much,

More than he’ll ever know.

poem4

 He whispers softly,

“When you really miss me,

Look up at the moon.

Just wait patiently,

I’ll be back real soon.

Whenever you think of me,

Know I’m thinking of you too.”

He points to his heart,

He says,

“This spot is for you.”

He kisses her head.

Hugs her real tight.

She turns off the light,

And they both go to bed.

poem2

There he goes,

Walking slowly away.

He turns and says,

“Don’t shed a tear,

You know I wish I could stay.

I love you today,

Tomorrow too.

Forever and Always,

I’ll be there for you.”

poemIt’s his last night

Before they have to say goodbye.

She rests her head on his shoulder,

And tries to hold onto the moment,

She wants to protect him from the world

That he’s saving for her.

poem12

She squeezes his hand,

Kisses his lips.

She looks at her husband,

With tears in her eyes.

He looks back at his wife,

With a smile on his face.

He says,

“Baby I love you,

And that’ll never change.

Be strong for me,

And I will be brave for you.

Don’t you worry,

I’ll be back real soon.”

poem11 There he goes,

Walking slowly away.

He turns and says,

“Don’t shed a tear,

You know I wish I could stay.

I love you today,

Tomorrow too.

Forever and Always,

I’ll be there for you.”

poem1

“Goodbye my soldier,

Come back real soon.

I miss you already,

I’m looking up at the moon.”

Wedding photos were taken by Bellemore Photography.

6 thoughts on ““Love is the answer, at least for most of the questions in my heart.” – Jack Johnson

Leave a Reply

