“The first step to getting the things you want out of life is this: Decide what you want.” – Ben Stein

type

I’m so glad we have advanced past the typewriter days. When I was a kid, I remember typing my Christmas wish list on our very own typewriter, and it took forever. I want to buy one again, just for fun. It will look great in my future in-home library.

Could you imagine using a typewriter to blog? Where would I stick my posts? On the bulletin board,  next to the elevator in our apartment complex? I really don’t think that would go over to well, “Draw a check mark if you read this and liked it!”

Being a blogger isn’t as easy as it seems. Sure, I get to sit at home and type on my laptop (I need a new one, by the way,) but you can also go a long time without getting a lot of feedback and recognition, (but at least there is a “like button.”) I do not get paid for my blogging and I don’t have any advertisers, yet, but it’s all in a day’s work.

I have fun blogging. Since I’m not in college anymore and I don’t have a “real” job, no one is forcing me to write papers or show up to work on time. With blogging, I am able to force myself to do write, write, write (as my dad so often tells me to do.) I, in return tell him to paint, paint, paint. Check out his stuff on Pinterest.

I’d like to think that my dad and I will both be famous one day. I tell Jim all the time that I will be a celebrity. He then starts to laugh really hard and I then I start to laugh too. I just like to joke about it.  I really do think my dad’s art should be in a gallery, and that he really should be famous. He deserves it,  and I’m not just saying that because he’s my dad. I’m saying it because he is a great artist who graduated with an art degree from my favorite college, Penn State University.

We are going to create a children’s book together: I will be the author and he will be the illustrator. We have been saying this for a while now, but it will happen. Dream big people, the worst you can do is fail, and in my mind, failing is not an option. As my assistant band director used to say, “It’s time to kick ass and chew bubblegum… and I’m all out of gum.” (Originally used in the 1988 movie “They Live“)

5 thoughts on ““The first step to getting the things you want out of life is this: Decide what you want.” – Ben Stein

  1. stingraze says:

    Hello, this is stingraze (Tsubasa Kato). I liked this post. I also want to have an old typewriter for myself too, and see what is different from laptops. I think a good idea will be to post the typewriter written post to your blog by scanning when you get one. 🙂

    From, stingraze

Leave a Reply

