What’s so special about Pepsi in Japan?

magazines

Since it’s winter, and there’s not much to do outside because it’s freezing, Jim and I have been trying to occupy ourselves inside. With that being said, we have gone on an unhealthy magazine binge.

Right around Christmas, magazine websites had huge sales, just like every other website online . We probably bought about ten magazines, between us, Jim was definitely the instigator for this situation.  I obviously bought my girl magazines: Cosmopolitan, Glamour, Self, and Jim ordered his guy magazines: Men’s Health, ESPN, The Atlantic, but one magazine that we have both been enjoying is Reader’s Digest. I know, we are basically like middle-aged, old people now and I have already stopped myself from almost saying, “Guess what I read in Reader’s Digest today?” to a few people, but it’s a pretty good magazine.

Yesterday, while trying to get over this stupid stomach flu, I started the February issue. One of the sections in the magazine is called “RD Recommends.”  This page gives  small overviews of some of the articles the staff wrote for their online blog, within the past few months. I found one which was notable and decided it was worth sharing.

As we all know, soda is bad for us. I love Dr. Pepper, more than I should probably admit, but that doesn’t mean I drink it everyday. I hate diet soda, for the most part, but have come to enjoy Dr. Pepper 10 and Pepsi Max (even though I am a Coke girl, Pepsi Max tastes like Coke, I swear!) Sometimes though, I just want a real Coke and a real Dr. Pepper. Maybe one day my favorite sodas will contain fiber, just like the new Pepsi Special, which made its debut in Japan 3 months ago,  then I will be able to enjoy can after can without any regret.

It’s weird to think of Japan as our next door neighbor because we live in Korea. I feel like we have something in common, especially since we are on the same continent, but in reality, we have nothing in common at all.  I actually had a layover there in August, but all I did was hop off one plane, walked really fast,  then boarded the next plane to San Fransisco. I didn’t even have a chance to go to the bathroom. Needless to say, I don’t think this new Pepsi has made it to Korea yet, and I’m not sure it ever will.

Pepsi Special is Japan’s idea of making soda healthy. Pepsi has infused this cola drink with fiber, specifically called wheat dextrin.  According to Reader’s Digest blogger Beth Weinhouse, the soda has been said to help abate cholesterol, steady blood sugar, and assist in nutrient absorption.  This special soda is even said to decrease excess body fat. Who would have thought soda could do all of that?! If you can’t beat em’, you might as well join em’.

Did you know that many companies in Japan require some sort of workout as part of their daily agenda? Company fitness is all the rage there, and now they can load up on Pepsi Special right after their workout. Who says soda isn’t good for you after you just worked up a sweat?

(http://www.rd.com/recommends/soda-the-new-health-food/)

2 thoughts on “What’s so special about Pepsi in Japan?

  1. Mary V Forlano says:

    Rosie, seeing you and Jim reading Readers Digest reminded me of Grandpop Forlano … he always use to read Reader’s Digest and quoted articles he read as you did to your friends. And naturally the rest of the family busted on him everytime. Thanks for the nice memory. Grandpop was quite a guy! 🙂

    • Rosie says:

      I didn’t know that about him! I guess I inherited my sewing skills and my love for Reader’s Digest from him! I miss him so much still, all the time. I wish we were able to have him in our lives for a lot longer.

Leave a Reply

