Recipe: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

Last night I made my first batch of enchiladas, ever. I try to make a Mexican dish at least once a week. Why? Because Jim and I both love Mexican food and there really aren’t many good Mexican restaurants in Korea, except Taco Bell.

I usually make: taco pie, crock pot chicken tacos, beef tacos, or turkey tacos. Jim never complains, but I figured I would think outside of the box and try something new.

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

chicken2

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Serves 3-4 depending on if you make rice to go along with it or not

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of large tortillas
  • 6-7 chicken tenders (cooked, shredded)
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 3 tablespoons of flour
  • 1 bag of frozen corn (thawed)
  • 1 bag of shredded Mexican cheese
  • 5 oz (half of can) of reduced fat chicken broth
  • 5 oz (half of can) of cream of chicken soup (98% fat-free)
  • 1/2 cup of reduced fat sour cream
  • 5 oz (half of can) diced tomatoes and green chiles
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Cook chicken in pot of boiling water
  • Shred chicken (after it cools) with two forks
  • Place a hefty amount of chicken and as much corn and cheese, as you desire, into each tortilla
  • Wrap up tortilla and place, seam side down, in a 9 X 13, lightly coated in cooking spray, baking dish (should make 5-6 enchiladas)
  • Melt butter in a medium pot
  • Whisk in flour until it turns into a thick paste, mine was chunky
  • Add chicken broth, cream of chicken soup, sour cream, and tomatoes/chiles, salt, and pepper
  • Heat on stove until everything is mixed together and smooth
  • Pour creamy mixture over top of enchiladas
  • Sprinkle as much cheese as you want on top of creamy mixture
  • Bake  for 25-30 minutes (or until creamy mixture starts to bubble)

chicken

I didn’t love this dish. I thought it was good, but not great. Jim liked it a lot, he is pretty easy-going and enjoys mostly everything I make. I think the chicken needed a little extra something. Jim suggested adding some of the creamy mixture inside of the tortillas, as well as, on top. I think I will try that next time.

Original recipe from Food Family & Finds

What’s your favorite Mexican recipe?

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Mary V Forlano says:

    I think my favorite Mexican recipe is Chicken Fajitas … just love them!!!!

    Your recipe sounds very good Rosie! Don’t be afraid to experiment … sometimes Chicken is a bit dry and needs just a little bit of help! I will definitely try this one and take the suggestion Jim made about including some of the soup mix inside the tortilla. I just made a soup Chili Chicken Soup with Cilantro dumplings — we have a big “souper-bowl” party at work every year it’s a contest and I’ve won with my entries every year for the past 4 years … so I’m trying this one for Monday. The practice run was okay, but I didn’t use Bisquick for the dumplings as I have a recipe for ones like my Grandmom made-these didn’t work too good in the soup, so I will follow the recipe this time and hope for the best….and maybe another little trophy!!!!! Enjoy your blogs so keep writing … Love to you and Jim, Aunt Mary Forlano

    • Rosie says:

      Send me the chili chicken soup recipe! It sounds good. I have made a really good chicken tortilla soup that I can’t get enough of! I want to learn how to make chicken and dumplings. I have a knock off recipe for the kind at cracker barrel that I want to try. Good luck with your contest!

Leave a Reply

