Chef Chen American Chinese Restaurant

sign

walk out the walk-through gate and make your first left in the ville

Last week, I was finally able to try Chef Chen American Chinese Restaurant.  I have been dying to go since the summer but somehow never made it until now. I have heard mixed reviews about Chef Chen’s, but I am happy to report that I thought it was amazing. As weird as it is to say, eating Chinese food made me feel like I was eating in the USA. The atmosphere reminded me of Chinese restaurants back home and the food was delicious.

chef chens2

When dining at Chef Chen’s, I have been told that lunch is the time to go. Lunch is served from 12-2:30, and then the menu is switched to dinner, which is more expensive. The lunch special includes: soup of the day, rice and your entrée.

menu2

Lunch Menu

menu

I ordered sweet and sour chicken, which only cost 7,000 won (less than $7.00.) The meal portion was huge and the soup was delicious. I probably should have taken a picture of the soup before I ate most of it, but it was filled to the top when it arrived.

sweet and sour

Sweet and Sour Chicken with rice and veggies

soup

Chicken Soup

I also ordered spring rolls, which were the best I have ever had, 4,000 won, and my friend ordered fried dumplings, 4,000 won, (tasted like Mandu, and they were scrumptious.) These options were on the back of the menu in the appetizer section for dinner.

spring rolls

Spring Rolls with Sweet and Sour Sauce

dumplings

Dumplings with Soy Sauce

The only complaint I have for the food is I didn’t really like the rice. It wasn’t the sticky rice that I am used to in Korea, but then again I was at a Chinese restaurant, not a Korean restaurant. Besides the rice, my lunch experience was delightful. The service was great and the woman who took care of us spoke great English.  There are booths and tables to sit at and the tons of spots to choose from. We were there around 1:00 PM and it was empty. I’d assume 12:00 – 1:00 is the busy time to eat lunch. I will definitely be going back soon for lunch again.

chef chens

One thought on “Chef Chen American Chinese Restaurant

Leave a Reply

