“You don’t want to peak in high school. If you do, the rest of your life is a disaster.” ― Candace Bushnell, The Carrie Diaries

boom

Spotted: a certain Army Wives hunk playing the rich father of a high school boy on the brand new show, The Carrie Diaries. And I’m allowed to say hunk because I think he kind of looks like an older version of Jim. Can you guess who it is?

Frank Sherwood (known in real life as Terry Serpico) is playing the father of Sebastion, high school hottie, Austin Butler (I’m also allowed to say he’s a hottie because he is over 18 and not actually in high school.) Frank Sherwood kind of looks like he could be his father, if you squint and forget the fact the he belongs on Army Wives, not The Carrie Diaries.

The only proof of it really being him during the brief scene where I spotted him is on his twitter account, where he Tweets on October 15, ” Hey All. On set at The Carrie Diaries. Great group of young actors!” I guess this means he’s not going to be a regular, he isn’t even listed on IMDB as part of the cast, nor is it listed on his list of appearances on his IMDB log.  If you blinked your eyes, you would have missed him. Anyone who “Tweets” want to Tweet him up and ask him if he will be on again? I haven’t gotten the hang of the whole Twitter thing yet and probably won’t, ever.

All that aside, I’m digging the new teen show, The Carrie Diaries, based on the books by Candace Bushnell, a prequel to the hit HBO show Sex & the City. AnnaSophia Robb is no Sarah Jessica Parker, but they both have the whole big hair thing going on and a similar (sometimes crazy) sense of style. I have yet to read the books, but I’m willing to give them a shot at some point or another.

What I like best about the show is the 80’s music (and, of course, the retro cell phone) between scenes; brings me back to band camp circa 2003. That’s right folks, I was in the band and I am darn proud of it. I was in color guard all throughout high school, and yes I played the flute too. Band camp 2003 was full of 80’s music and dancing on the deck of our cabins, during what little breaks we had. This is why I love teen shows so much, brings me back to a time we all love to hate and hate to love, high school.

One thing that really bothers me about the show is the mean girl played by Chloe Bridges. Did her character’s name really have to be Donna? Reminds me of the original 90210 every single time I hear it.

Watch The Carrie Diaries on the CW at 8:00 PM EST

Maybe the past is like an anchor holding us back. Maybe, you have to let go of  who you were to become who you will be. – Sex & the City 

4 thoughts on ““You don’t want to peak in high school. If you do, the rest of your life is a disaster.” ― Candace Bushnell, The Carrie Diaries

  1. Mary F. says:

    Sorry, I don’t watch the Carrie Diaries – in my humble opinion – sometimes the writers should just forget about the “pre-quels” – Sex in the City was a great show – I’ll savor those memories and enjoy watching them anytime I want – I caved in and bought the series – then you can always catch repeats on TV! (and naturally dream about Mr. Big!)

    • Rosie says:

      It’s actually a decent show and it’s only two episodes in! It’s obviously not as raunchy, but still cute. I was always an Aiden fan. I do miss SITC. I thought both movies were pretty good too!

  2. shaalasherman says:

    LOL- my daughter plays the flute in her high school band also AND she also watches the Carrie Diaries which means I watch them too while doing whatever it is I am doing. I tend to hear more shows than I actually watch.

Leave a Reply

