Hello 2013!

Korea 914

New Year’s Eve in Pyeongtaek

I can’t believe we are already five days into 2013. It seems to be getting colder and colder, every single day in Korea, as we carry on through the winter.  We had a white Christmas, New Year’s Eve, and New Year’s Day. The end is not even near.

March 18th will be my one year Koreaversary. When I arrived last March, it was still about 45 degrees on a daily basis: to my husband this was warm, to me it was still freezing. We still have a whole lot of winter ahead of us, and  from the looks of it, a whole lot more snow.

Leave it to us, to experience the coldest winter in Korea in the past 56 years.

san diego

We tend to bring extreme weather wherever we go. On our honeymoon, it rained the whole time. In a city that normally sees mostly sunshine, San Diego, we managed to visit  on a “rare cold and rainy week.” But that didn’t stop us from seeing one of the coolest cities in the country. I even stuck my feet in the Pacific Ocean for the first time. Cold doesn’t even begin to describe the feeling in my feet, or the lack there of for at least a half hour! Although we hate extreme coldness, or anything below 65 degrees, Jim and I are considering doing the polar bear plunge at the pool this month. You only live once, right?

Winter makes us appreciate the warmer seasons. I’m looking forward to a beautiful spring and a hot summer. I am already counting down the days until the pool opens up and I can spend my days basking in the sun. As we get deeper into winter, my tan is becoming non-existent. For an Italian girl, this is one of the worst parts of cold weather months.

2013 is already looking great. I will have big news to post soon! No, I am NOT pregnant. Sorry, folks!

5 thoughts on “Hello 2013!

Leave a Reply

