Homemade clementine muffins

I have been expanding my culinary skills for the past few weeks and have been trying to cook all sorts of different foods. Yesterday, I bought a big bowl worth of clementines for 3,000 won (roughly $2.75) from the street market and brought them home for me and Jim. Today, I noticed they were already really ripe. I realized that there was no way we were going to eat them all before they went bad and I didn’t want to waste them, so I decided to make something yummy out of them.

I went to Google and typed in, “What to cook with clementines.”  Two recipes kept popping up: one for chicken and one for muffins.

I boiled 10 clementines on the stove (for one hour) and continued to puree them into a sauce. I used half of the puree for this muffin recipe and put the rest in the fridge for tomorrow night’s chicken entrée. I did not puree the clementines with the skin, even though the muffin recipe said you could (and should.) I did however, drop the clementines in ice water before peeling them so that I would not burn myself from hot clementine juice.

Turns out, I can add homemade muffins to my cooking success stories. I don’t know how good or bad there are for you, but I do know that they are delicious. These will be great for breakfast for the next couple days while Jim is off.


I also made three with chocolate chips in them, just to see if they would be good or not. I really like chocolate covered orange candy, so I figured why not give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

