Book Review: Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

A few weeks before I came to Korea, I had the great pleasure of meeting Jodi Picoult at The Free Library of Philadelphia. She was smaller than I expected, but she was full of spunk and enthusiasm.

Ms. Picoult’s book tour was driven by her newest novel Lone Wolf. Up until her newest novel, I have read four of Picoult’s books, and started three others, but never finished them. Therefore, I am not an expert when it comes to the themes of each novel she has written, but this one seemed very different from the ones in which I have already read.

Jodi Picoult’s books are always interesting, but I can only read one every few months. She writes all of her books the same way, giving us the advantage of being inside the majority of her character’s heads and allowing us to see the storyline through many different perspectives.  Even though her writing style sometimes annoys me, she is still one of my favorite authors.  The books that I have finished reading of hers are some of my all-time favorites, such as The Pact and Nineteen Minutes.

Lone Wolf, is not about werewolves, although they are a popular science fiction topic among our culture these days, but about actual wolves and their habits in the wild. If you are interested in wolves, you will be interested in this novel.

Jodi Picoult’s books usually revolve around a life altering choice or a devastating decision, and this novel is no different in that aspect. Edward and Cara, siblings, are required to make a choice that will change their father’s life. Will this choice bring an estranged family back together or drive them further apart?

I wish I could say I couldn’t put this book down, but it took me a few weeks to read. I would read it at the pool and before I went to bed, but it wasn’t a page turner like her other books were for me. I enjoyed the book, but in my opinion, it wasn’t the best one I have read by her.

In regards to page turners, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky, my all time favorite book, has been transformed into a feature film. I stumbled upon this news while wasting my life away on Pinterest this morning, but good thing I did, because I am nothing less than thrilled.

I wouldn’t deny the fact that I am skeptical about books being turned into movies. Many movies have ruined books for me, such as Jodi Picoult’s, My Sister’s Keeper, and all of the Twilight movies.I have yet to see The Hunger Games, but I have heard that it is even better than the book, I will have to see it to believe it.

There is no denying that I will go see The Perks of Being a Wallflower opening week. Lucky me, I will be back in the states when it comes out and I will not miss this chance to see my favorite book on the big screen. Do I think it will be great? Probably not, but it will be interesting to see the words that touched my heart so deeply, in high school, come to life.

I hope that the news of a motion picture renews the book’s popularity and a new generation of readers can enjoy this novel as much as I once did, and still do. The movie is bound to cause controversy because the book itself is controversial and on many ban book lists across the country. The weirdest part about this book becoming a movie is how last night I was  thinking about how I wanted to reread the book while I was here in Korea, it was one of the few fiction novels I packed to bring over, and then this morning I randomly found out it has become a movie.

Oddly enough, both of these novels reference The Catcher in the Rye, one of my least favorite books that I have ever read, or more so scanned because I couldn’t stand Holden Caulfield’s whiny attitude. See if you can pick up the tiny  allusion in Lone Wolf, which is much harder to spot than the reference in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, after all, Stephen Chbosky’s written words encouraged me to read The Cather in the Rye. Years later, I was forced to read it again in my young adult literature class, and I still hated it.

You can watch The Perks of Being a Wallflower trailer here.

If you haven’t read The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I highly suggest you do, and if you have any interest in wolves or want an interesting book to read this summer, Lone Wolf is worth it.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

  1. Kathleen Gilligan says:

    Would you believe I have never read “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”?

    Still haven’t read “Lone Wolf”! Promise it is near the top of my to-read list!!

    Love the random book ramblings 🙂

Leave a Reply

