A rose by any other name would smell as sweet – William Shakespeare

Last weekend, along with the Seoul Zoo, Jim and I visited the Rose Garden, which was conveniently located right across from the zoo.

We both thought it would be a small adventure, and we happily payed 2,000 won each, to enjoy a few roses.

Boy, were we wrong! The garden was huge. I wish I could tell you how many roses were there, but I just don’t know, the guide was in Korean. But let me tell you, you do not need to know any Korean to enjoy the beauty of this spectacular venue.

If we were to get married in Korea, even though we are obviously already married, this is where we would have had the ceremony. Hundreds of different kinds of roses flooded the area. People were everywhere enjoying each other and having picnics. Children were laughing, making crafts, and running around, enjoying life. We could have spent the whole day just wondering aimlessly through the rows of roses.

I didn’t even know there were that many kinds of roses. Below is our painter friend. He told Jim I looked like a movie star. I should have told him my name was Rose, that would have been even funnier.

The garden show is from May 25 – July 1. We hope to get back there again when we go to Seoul Land, maybe I’ll bring my epipen next time, just in case.


For the rest of my life, whenever the sky’s grey, I’ll remember that the blue’s still there above the clouds, and the sun’s still shining. – Pauline Fisk, The Mrs. Marriage Project

One thought on “A rose by any other name would smell as sweet – William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

